Psalms of Ascent – Psalm 132 – My Heart, God’s Dwelling Place – Part 1

Standard

Psalm 132:1-10 (Holman Christian Standard Bible)

  1. LORD, remember David and all the hardships he endured,
  2. and how he swore an oath to the Lord, making a vow to the Mighty One of Jacob:
  3. “I will not enter my house or get into my bed,
  4. I will not allow my eyes to sleep or my eyelids to slumber
  5. until I find a place for the LORD, a dwelling for the Mighty One of Jacob.”
  6. We heard of the ark in Ephrathah; we found it in the fields of Jaar.
  7. Let us go to His dwelling place; let us worship at His footstool.
  8. Arise, LORD, come to Your resting place, You and the ark that shows Your strength.
  9. May Your priests be clothed with righteousness, and may Your godly people shout for joy.
  10. Because of Your servant David, do not reject Your anointed one.

Beth breaks this psalm into two parts because of its length.  This first section recounts David’s desire to bring the ark of God to Jerusalem and to build a “dwelling” for God.  The ark was so important because according to Exodus 25:21-22, that is where God would meet with Moses.  Beth recounts the history of the ark:

  • Israelites built ark after exodus from Egypt and carried it with them during their wanderings in the wilderness
  • Ark placed in Shiloh (Joshua 18:1) after Israelites crossed Jordan
  • Ark moved to Bethel (Judges 20:26-27) during time of judges
  • Ark back in Shiloh at start of I Samuel, and then captured by Philistines
  • Philistines sent ark back after experiencing “bad luck” and Israelites took it to Kirjath Jearim, or Jaar  (not to be confused with Jar Jar, which is TOTALLY different :P)  (Side note: Yes, I am THAT MUCH of a dork.)
  • David calls for ark to be brought to Jerusalem

Beth states:

After conquerting Jerusalem and establishing it as the capital of God’s people, David rightly called for the ark to be brought to the city.  No wonder God referred to him as a man after His own heart!  David wanted God’s presence more than he wanted his next breath.  He was jealous for the glory and worship of God and for sacred things to find their sacred places

I ask not to stir an ounce of condemnation but to open a door of invitation.  Have you ever felt a David-like passion for God’s presence?  Once we begin to sense God’s presence and favor frequently, nothing is worth risking it.  Perhaps He’s already developed a David-like passion in you to see Him reveal Himself.  Maybe you know some of what David meant when he petitioned God to “arise and come.”

Just a few short weeks ago, I would have had to answer “no” to that question.  Not anymore.  There are way too many things that have happened these last few weeks to even begin to recount the ways I have seen God at work in my life like never before.  I want to seek His will and use my gifts and talents to further His Kingdom like never before.  I want to be a Kingdom worker. 

One of the things that stuck out to me the most about this passage was that David was urging God to come to his “resting place.”  It immediately occurred to me that, since the resurrection of Jesus, God no longer calls the ark His dwelling place.  Where does God’s Spirit now dwell? 

Romans 8:9 – But you are not in the flesh but in the Spirit, if indeed the Spirit of God dwells in you. Now if anyone does not have the Spirit of Christ, he is not His.

John 14:16-18 – And I will pray the Father, and He will give you another Helper, that He may abide with you forever— the Spirit of truth, whom the world cannot receive, because it neither sees Him nor knows Him; but you know Him, for He dwells with you and will be in you.  I will not leave you orphans; I will come to you.

2 Timothy 1:13-14 – Hold fast the pattern of sound words which you have heard from me, in faith and love which are in Christ Jesus.  That good thing which was committed to you, keep by the Holy Spirit who dwells in us.

1 Corinthians 3:16 – Do you not know that you are the temple of God and that the Spirit of God dwells in you?

Whoa.

Can we say to God, “Arise, LORD, come to Your resting place?”  Now, I realize that the psalmist means “a place where He is at” and not “a place where He can rest,” because we all know God doesn’t need to rest.  But still, I was extremely convicted by how often my soul is NOT a “resting place” for God.  It is a good thing He doesn’t have to try to get some peace and quiet, because He definitely could not do that in me.  I have been learning over the past few weeks that I have to quiet my mind and spirit in order to discern the movement of God in my life.  God has come to us and, though we no longer have to make a physical journey to go to Him, we still have to prepare our hearts in order to meet Him face to face.

My Psalm 132 (part 1)

Lord, remember my and all the difficult circumstances I have experienced, how I gave my life to You in my youth and said I wanted You to be Lord of my life.  I renew that vow now, Lord.  I do not want to start my day or go to sleep at night without bringing my heart before Your throne.  At Pentecost You sent Your Spirit to dwell within us.  We no longer have to journey to You.  You have made Your dwelling place in our hearts.  We can worship You freely wherever we are.  Arise, Lord!  Prepare my heart to be a quiet place of rest for You.  Let me experience Your strength.  Clothe me in Your righteousness.  Make my heart sing with joy.  Because of Your Son, Jesus, You will not reject me.  You have anointed me.

One thought on “Psalms of Ascent – Psalm 132 – My Heart, God’s Dwelling Place – Part 1

  1. Pingback: Session One - The Anointing: Established and Empowered « Pilgrim Wanderings

Leave a Reply

