Psalms of Ascent – Psalm 132 – My Heart, God’s Dwelling Place (Part 2)

Standard

Psalm 132:11-18 (Holman Christian Standard Bible)

11.  The LORD swore an oath to David, a promise He will not abandon:  “I will set one of your descendants on your throne. 

12.  If your sons keep My covenant and My decrees that I will teach them, their sons will also sit on your throne, forever.” 

13.  For the LORD has chosen Zion; He has desired it for His home:

14.  “This is My resting place forever; I will make My home here because I have desired it.

15.  I will abundantly bless its food; I will satisfy its needy with bread.

16.  I will clothe its priests with salvation, and its godly people will shout for joy.

17.  There I will make a horn grow for David; I have prepared a lamp for My anointed one.

18.  I will clothe his enemies with shame, but the crown he wears will be glorious.”

 

This half of the psalm is God’s response to David. 

How incredible is THAT?!  God ANSWERED David.

I admit that discerning the will of God is something I have struggled with throughout my life.  It would be so much easier to do His will if He would just tell us what it was.  But God no longers speaks to us that way.  So how do you know what to do?  How do you know which path to take? 

I have learned over the last few weeks that it boils down to opening your heart and your mind fully to God and looking for Him everywhere.  You have to get into His Word to learn what His heart is like, so you can pray that He will make YOUR heart align with His.  Then you will know what doors to go through and which ones to shut behind you.  You will know the purpose for your life – which I’ve learned is the same for all Christians. 

BE A KINGDOM WORKER.

How we go about this will be different based on our various talents, life experiences, and abilities.  But THAT is the purpose.  We have been called according to His purpose.  His purpose is to grow the Kingdom.  Therefore, our purpose is to grow the Kingdom.

I have blogged before about how I feel that I am being led to make a major change in a big area of my life.  That door is still open and is getting wider every day.  But how can I be sure it is the door I am to walk through?  How can I KNOW God is saying “This way dingbat!”?  Hopefully one day in the near future I can be more specific, but here are several ways I feel God has “spoken” to me about this. 

I am on the Proverbs 31 daily devotional e-mail list and several of them over the last few weeks have been somehow related to this door that has opened.  Coincidence?  How about providence.

I do my study out of the Max Lucado Inspirational Study Bible.  It has “Life Lesson” devotionals in the margins throughout the book.  There was one in Genesis about Abraham and his obedience to God that was so incredibly powerful.  It was an exerpt from Fritz Ridenour’s How to Be a Christian Without Being Religious.  I don’t want to quote it all, but here are the main points:

If you want God’s will, give Him your total self – a living sacrifice – and that means your body and your thoughts, your mind, which He can renew from within, if you let Him . . .

The guidance of God’s Word is primary, basic.  How can you say you are seeking God’s will, if you don’t know what the Bible says?

The witness of the Holy Spirit comes as you walk in the Spirit.  Prayer is vital here.  It’s unfortunate that we have made “I’ll pray about it” something of a cliche.  Maybe we should change the phrase to “I will talk with God about it.”  With God, not at God.  Some prayer lists sound like Christmas lists.  Others sound like assignments that God should carry out becuase we are “so spiritual, so deserving . . .”

Take a look at outward circumstances LAST . . .  How do you evaluate or act upon circumstances?  . . . For one thing you have to act in faith on what you already know.  Is it evident that there are certain actions that would be worth taking?  Some people call this “trying different doors.”  Sometimes God will slam shut every door but the one He wants you to walk through. 

In the “Application” part of this devotional, it said to ask God to show you how your plans, goals, and directions conform to His will and to consult with other Christians and ask them to think through how the Bible applies to your situation.  I have done this, and everyone I have talked to has come to the same conclusion I have – this situation has been orchestrated by God.  So I will keep walking down this path, toward this door until He changes my course.

I felt weird trying to turn this part of the psalm into a prayer specifically for me, because I did not want to put words in God’s mouth that He hasn’t already actually said.  So I moved away from personal application and focused on how this passage also speaks to what will happen to us (Christians) when God’s Kingdom comes in full.  Because that is really what this response is.  It is God telling David what HIS Kingdom will be like, and the part David will play in it.

The Lord has made a promise to me, He cannot go back on His Word.  He has sent a Savior to us; His Son and a descendant of David.  Jesus kept His covenant and decrees, “and He shall reign forever and ever!” (Rev. 11:15)

He sent His Son to redeem us because He created us – He chose us; He desires relationship and communion with us.  “We know that He abides in us, by the Spirit whom He has given us.” (1 John 3:24)  We are “conformed to the image of His Son.” (Romans 8:29)  He has given us “the true bread from heaven.  For the bread of God is He who comes down from heaven and gives life to the world.” (John 6:32-33)  Jesus is the bread of life, which satisfies the needy.  We have “put on Christ.” (Gal. 4:27)  We have “put on the new man which was created according to God, in true righteousness and holiness.” (Eph. 4:24) 

He has given us citizenship in heaven and will transform our bodies and conform them to His glorious body (Philippians 3:21).  We will “be glad and rejoice and give Him glory!” (Rev. 19:7)  “He has raised up a horn of salvation for us in the house of His servant David.” (Luke 1:69)  The Lamb will be the light for us who are saved (Rev. 21:23-24).  He will be crowned with many crowns (Rev. 19:12) and He will make all things new (Rev. 21:5).

One thought on “Psalms of Ascent – Psalm 132 – My Heart, God’s Dwelling Place (Part 2)

  1. Pingback: Session One - The Anointing: Established and Empowered « Pilgrim Wanderings

Leave a Reply

