Centered on God

Standard

Anointed Transformed Redeemed:  Week One, Day Two

And David realized that the LORD had established him as king over Israel, and that his kingdom was highly exalted for the sake of His people Israel.  – 1 Chronicles 14:2 (NASB)

1.  God’s hand had been on David since the day he was anointed, and continued to be upon him during his journey to the throne.

He received divine favor when God chose him and told Samuel to anoint him (1 Samuel 16:7-13).  He received divine courage when he trusted God to deliver him from Goliath as He had delivered him from the lion and bear while tending sheep (1 Samuel 17:34-37).  David received evidence of God’s divine timing when the Lord spoke to him and answered his inquiries when he became king over Judah (2 Samuel 2:1-4).  He received divine authorization from God to be king over Israel, and was reminded by the people of his anointing by God (1 Chronicles 11:1-3).

There have been several times in my life when I have clearly seen the hand of God at work.  As newlyweds with a young child, God provided us with a home through the gift of a family member so that we did not have to pay rent or a mortgage.  Sure, it was old and what some would consider “rundown,” but it provided us with a roof over our heads and kept us safe and warm.  And now I am even more grateful for things like central heat and air and a dishwasher.  lol  He surrounded us with supportive family members who took turns watching my child while my husband worked and I finished college.  Through their support, I never missed a semester and was able to graduate on time. 

Several years later in 2002, God picked us up out of East Tennessee and moved us several hours away to Nashville.  It was an extremely scary time.  I was leaving all of my family and all but one of my friends ( 😉 ).  And we had all of $150 in the bank.  But I can clearly see now that moving here was the best thing that could have possibly happened to us.  God forcibly removed us from a bad business venture and gave us a fresh start in a new location.  We found great jobs, bought a great house, and live in a great community. 

He also worked to clear up problems in our credit stemming from the bad business venture and some other stupid stuff that we did, allowing us to purchase our home far faster than we ever thought we would be able to.  And when I say He cleared it up, I mean He cleared it up.  Negative report falsely filed by a creditor before – no mention of said creditor on our credit report now AT ALL.  God worked in our circumstances to remove it as if it had never happened.  I am so grateful that He does that for US and the sin in our lives, and not just credit reports.

God is currently working in my life in a dramatic way again.  Looking back, I can see how everything that has happened in my life has been manuevering me toward this moment.  Hopefully I will be able to share more about that soon.

I have learned that God is trustworthy and will always provide for us.  I know that all things work together for the good of those who love the Lord and are called according to His purposes (Romans 8:28). 

2.  We must develop a “God-consciousness” like David had.

Priscilla says:

When we see that God has been with us all along, guiding our steps and directing our paths, we come to more fully trust Him and turn our attention to find Him more quickly in each new phase life begins.

Priscilla talks about how David’s first priority as king was to bring the ark of the covenant back to God’s chosen people.  The ark was important to the Israelites for several reasons.

  1. It represented God to the people.
  2. It gave evidence of His presence because He met with and spoke to His children there.

David had experienced God’s presence, and he wanted the people to be able to experience it, too.

This must also be our desire.  Priscilla says:

This is a matter that cannot be taken lightly for the Christian who desires more than mere religion.  Although no physical chest must sit in the center of our homes or cities to indicate God’s presence, we must each make a personal decision to restore the centrality of God’s presence and authority in the epicenter of our lives.  We are the modern-day tabernacles in which God’s presence dwells.

For me, part of that means stopping to consider how Jesus would react to various circumstances that I face.  When faced with the decision about how to react to annoying people, will I get mad and frustrated or will I stay calm, persevere, and show grace?  Will I choose to spend quality time with my child, or will I worry about spending too much money on “unnecessary” things like a trip to the ice cream parlor?  Will I get upset and angry at bad or irresponsible drivers, or will I trust that God is my Keeper and Protector?  Will I choose to complain and commisserate with co-workers, or will I keep my mouth shut and take my complaint to God

Once we begin to live aware of God with us in everything, we find that He really does have something to say about everything in our lives – not just the ‘Sunday morning’ part but every other part as well.  As we incorporate Him into our lives, He changes us on a very practical level.

Priscilla ends this lesson with a list of things one can do to help maintain a God-consciousness.  I hope I don’t get in trouble for quoting the whole thing!  I have shortened some of them down.

  1. Write a scripture on an index card and tape it to your bathroom wall.  Rotate after a week.
  2. Pray small prayers throughout the day.
  3. Listen to Christian music.
  4. Rise early and spend the time with God, either in His Word or praying.
  5. Ask your children to point out things in nature that God made and discuss with them.
  6. Say a prayer offering yourself to God before getting out of bed each day.
  7. If you start to feel anxious or worried, immediately stop and pray about it.

Another thing I do is recite scriptures about God’s plans and purposes for us.  Here are some of the verses I cling to when feeling overwhelmed:

Jeremiah 29:11 – For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, says the LORD, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope.

James 5:16 – The effective, fervent prayer of a righteous man avails much.

Deuteronomy 31:6 – Be strong and of good courage, do not fear nor be afraid of them; for the LORD your God, He is the One who goes with you.  He will not leave you nor forsake you.

Deuteronomy 33:27 – The eternal God is your refuge, and underneath are the everlasting arms . . .

Matthew 6:31-34 – Therefore do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’  For after all these things the Gentiles seek.  For your heavenly Father knows that you need all these things.  But seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things shall be added to you.  Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about its own things.

Matthew 11:28-30 – Come to Me, all you who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.  Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.  For My yoke is easy and My burden is light.

Psalm 27:1 – The LORD is my light and my salvation; whom shall I fear?  The LORD is the strength of my life; of whom shall I be afraid? 

I also avoid the news like the plague.  That may sound weird, but listening to and watching the news is one of the fastest ways for me to get all torqued out of shape.  I get too angry listening to pundits talk about things they have no clue about.  I can actually feel my blood pressure go up and my face turn red.  I get most of the news I need to read from online sources, and I avoid message boards at all cost because I have seen some of the most vile, hateful things written on them. 

Find out what makes you focus on God and RUN to that.

Find out what takes your focus off of God and AVOID that like the plague.

Leave a Reply

