Sustained and Established by God and Positioned and Anointed for a Purpose

Standard

Anointed Transformed Redeemed – Week 1, Days 3 & 4

So David did exactly as God commanded him, and they struck down the Philistine army from Gibeon to Gezer.  (1 Chronicles 14:16, HCSB)

David knew God had called him and made him king.  Since Israel was God’s chosen people, he knew that this was an honor from God.  Priscilla states:

Humans tend to become more self-sufficient the more we achieve success, yet David illustrates the opposite.  He was certain that Yahweh was the source of his life and that his ability to perform well resulted from God’s grace.

I have found this to be true.  I have no problem calling on God and asking for help when I am facing trials or difficult circumstances.  It is very easy to stop calling out, though, when things are going well and I don’t feel like I really need God’s help.  I am learning that when things are going well I need to call out to God even more because that is when the enemy will launch an attack.  We see this in David’s life.  In 1 Chronicles 14, the day David has long awaited has finally arrived.  He has finally claimed the throne.  As soon as the Philistines hear that David has assumed the throne, however, they launch an attack.  What does David do?  He doesn’t ask “why now?” or “why me?”  He doesn’t get mad at the inconvenience, become anxious, or fly of the handle, making stupid decisions in the process.  He immediately inquires of God before acting, waits for Him to respond, and then acts on what God says.  And he emerged victorious.  If I haven’t been in the Word or in prayer like I should be, it will be hard to face those attacks and emerge victorious. 

The beginning of anxiety is the end of faith.  The beginning of true faith is the end of anxiety. – George Muller

Our anxiety always stems from a desire to control and indicates that we have ceased to trust the Lord.  When we are depending on the Lord to handle the people and circumstances in our lives, the outcome will be an existence virtually free from worry, anxiety, and fear. – Priscilla Shirer

I will admit that I am a control freak.  I like to make plans, and have them progress step-by-step in an orderly manner.  I do not like it when a wrench gets thrown into my plans.  More often that not, though, MY plans were not exactly GOD’S plans.  I tended to just rush headlong into what I wanted, and not seeking God’s direction or will for my life.  It isn’t that I didn’t want to, it was that I didn’t really think God would bother to speak to me.  I mean, He had more important things to worry about.  But that isn’t true, nor is it Biblical.

Now He who establishes us with you in Christ and has anointed us is God, who also has sealed us and given us the Spirit in our hearts as a guarantee. – 2 Corinthians 1:21-22

As Priscilla explains:

Those who place faith in Christ are not only established but also anointed by God . . . we have been anointed with the indwelling Spirit’s presence from the day of our salvation.

The Spirit lives in us, and we are sealed and anointed by Him to accomplish God’s preplanned purposes. 

So God really DOES have an individual, specific plan for all of our lives.  For MY life.  Does this mean that I am going to be able to call fire down from heaven?  Probably not.  lol  Being anointed by God does not mean that we will be able to perform miracles.  But it DOES mean that when I sincerely seek God’s will for my life, He will reveal it to me and lead me down the paths that I am to go to accomplish that.  It also means that He will give us the ability to respond to our circumstances in a way that is above the norm (or “supernatural”). 

So what are some ways a Spirit-filled life is evidenced?  Priscilla lists some of the guidelines Chuck Swindoll gives in his book Flying Closer to the Flame.

  1. an inner dynamic to handle life’s pressures
  2. ability to be joyful regardless
  3. the capacity to grasp the deep things of God that He teaches us in the Bible
  4. ability to keep a positive attitude of unselfishness, servanthood, and humility
  5. a keen sense of intuition and discernment; ability to sense evil
  6. ability to love and be loved in return
  7. no fear of evil or demonic and satanic assault
  8. able to stand alone in confidence
  9. experience inner assurance regarding decisions as well as right and wrong
  10. worry-free living
  11. ability to minister to others through spiritual gifts
  12. an intimate, abiding “Abba relationship” with the living God

I must confess that for every one of those that I have down (for the most part), there is another that I struggle with intensely.  But I know that as I grow closer to Him, those struggles will become easier and easier to deal with, until I eventually overcome them. 

I still have many things to say to you, but you cannot bear them now.  However, when He, the Spirit of truth, has come, He will guide you into all truth; for He will not speak on His own authority, but whatever He hears He will speak; and He will tell you things to come.  He will glorify Me, for He will take of what is Mine and declare it to you. – John 16:12-14

Leave a Reply

