Week Three: Moving Past Our Devastation

Standard

Anointed-Transformed-Redeemed Week Three – Beth Moore

I *heart* Beth Moore.  She just seems to be able to explain the deep things of God in a way that makes sense like no one else I have ever studied.  And she is so genuine.  You know how you can tell when someone is “acting” spiritual and changing their normal voice to make themselves sound “caring”?  You know how it makes you feel all nauseous at the obvious fakery?  Yeah, Beth isn’t like that.  lol  She means every single word she says.

Anyway, on to Beth’s first lesson!

1.  Something for You

Here I am, living in a palace of cedar, while the ark of God remains in a tent. – 2 Samuel 7:2

David, the man after God’s own heart, got it in his head that he was going to build a house for God.  He was upset that he was living in a nice palace, while God’s dwelling place was still a tent.  And he decided he was going to do something about it.  So he talked with Nathan, God’s prophet, and told him about his plan.  Nathan thought it sounded good, too, so he told David to go for it.  The only problem is that neither one of them asked God what He thought about it.

Beth states, “I have learned the hard way, however, that not every good idea is a God-idea.”

No kidding.  Man, have I been there.  And it was not pleasant in the end.  I ended up realizing that, even though I thought I was doing the will of God, I never actually checked in with Him on what I was doing.  To make a long story short, we got involved in an “internet business” several years ago that turned out to be pretty much nothing more than a scam.  The people involved told good, motivational stories about how they were doing God’s work by changing people’s lives by getting them involved in a business that would make them financially independent, then they would give their lives to God.  The only problem was that the purpose of the whole thing wasn’t to see people come to Christ, it was to see how many people you could recruit so YOU could make more money.  We learned this the hard way when we fell on hard times and could no longer afford to purchase the expensive stuff we didn’t need from the company.  Our “recruiters” ditched us faster than you could turn around when we stopped producing income for them.  Looking back several years later, I can see how God really, really looked out for us by actually physically picking our family up and moving us 4 hours away from these people.  Because, buddy, I was sucked in, and had the robe with the big “Q” on it to prove it.  lol

For the longest time while we were in “the business” I couldn’t figure out why God didn’t bless us with vast wealth like all the people had been telling us he would.  I mean, didn’t He know how many people I could really help if I had the money?  I had dreams of building a facility for at-risk kids or an apartment complex where single moms could life rent-free.  I grew frustrated that MY plans were not successful.  Afterwards, when we discovered the truth behind all the lies we had been told about how these people would always be there for us and we’d be BFFs (lol), I was also disappointed that the people I trusted to be godly were liars and schemers.  I felt like a failure.  And I felt stupid for being so taken in and brainwashed.

But it took all of that junk to remind me that not all of God’s children are meant to be wealthy.  I mean the majority of the “saints of God” in the Bible were extremely poor and lived off the charity of others – including Jesus.  I can be content no matter what my financial situation.  I need to seek Him and His kingdom, not MY kingdom.  I must admit, though, that there have been lasting effects from this experience.  I still occasionally find myself feeling bitter or resentful when I am reminded of what we went through.  In fact, I can feel my blood pressure rising as I type about it.  lol

But God can take our stupid mistakes – even if He never meant for us to go through them – and turn them into learning experiences that not only help us, but help others, too.  I now understand how easy it is to be taken in by pretty talk and people who play to your dreams and goals.  And it is okay to still have dreams and goals.  You just need to make sure your dreams and goals are God’s dreams and goals.

David experienced this when he decided all by himself that he was going to build a house for God.  Nathan came back the next day and was like, “Um, remember when I told you to go for it yesterday?  Scratch that.  God says uh-uh.”  He then told David that God had spoken and said that He was going to build a house for David.  Not the other way around.  I love the statements that Beth makes at the end of this lesson.  Looking back from this point in my life, I can honestly say “Amen” to every one of them.

God can also bless our lives profoundly for our pure-hearted plans even when He can’t, for kingdom reasons, bless our idea.

When God doesn’t appear to bless your plan to do something for Him, consider that He wants to do something for you instead.

Anything God has stopped you from doing for Him was only so you’d be still enough to let Him first do something for you.

Leave a Reply

