John – Day 1: The Little Brother

Standard

I wanted to finish up postings for the Anointed, Transformed, Redeemed study that I recently finished at church, but I just can’t get motivated to do that.  😦  It isn’t that the study wasn’t good, because I really enjoyed it.  I think it is just because a lot of the stuff I learned echoed stuff I had already learned during the Psalms of Ascent study.  That, and to be honest, I had started to grow complacent (yet again) in my study of the Word.  Things were hectic on the homefront, with starting a new job and all.  It was time to start a new study with a different focus so I could refocus. 

So, being the Beth Moore junky that I have recently become, I picked her study John – 90 Days with the Beloved Disciple.  I just started it, but I hope that by studying the life of this disciple of Jesus, I can become a better one. 

I am going to try to mirror Beth’s format in my blog of this study.  She starts out with a reading, then asks some reflective questions.  Then she has some commentary, another reflective question, and ends with a prayer and a place to write your own.  So, here we go:

Text:  Matthew 4:18-22

As He (Jesus) was walking along the Sea of Galilee, He saw two brothers, Simon, who was called Peter, and his brother Andrew.  They were casting a net into the sea, since they were fishermen.  “Follow Me,” He told them, ” and I will make you fish for people!”  Immediately they left their nets and followed Him.

Going on from there, He saw two other brothers, James the son of Zebedee, and his brother John.  They were in a boat with Zebedee their father, mending their nets, and He called them.  Immediately they left the boat and their father and followed Him.

Stop and Consider

  1. What were you doing when Jesus first came to you?  What ordinary things occupied your time and attention?  I was just a little girl when I was saved.  I was going to school and attending church and Sunday School.  I was in 2nd or 3rd grade, I can’t remember exactly.  I didn’t have a “life-changing” encounter with Christ, at least as far as the world is concerned.  But it was life-changing, because it changed the way I lived my life from that moment on.
  2. In what ways might your nature and background be similar to John’s?  Or in what ways could your two experiences not possibly be any more unlike?  I also had a brother, but, unlike John, I was the eldest.  We both helped our dad with his work.  He was self-employed, just like John’s father, but he was an electrician.  We would go on jobs with him and hand him his tools when we were young, and eventually helped with more advanced jobs as we got older.  My brother followed in his footsteps and became an electrician himself.  Things I learned working with my dad have helped me and my husband with projects around our house.  We would also help him work in our garden and cut firewood to sell during the winter.  We also grew up in a small town out in the country.
  3. How have you been identified by your relationship with others?  In what ways has this been a blessing in your life?  In what ways, though, has it seemed limiting or restrictive, making your feel misunderstood, as though you can’t be yourself?  People knew my dad was honest and hard-working.  People knew he could be trusted.  On the other hand, we were fairly poor, so I was always thought of as the poor kid.  We didn’t have the fancy clothes and nice house that most of the other kids had.  I couldn’t really escape that until I went to college where no one knew my family history and treated me based on my abilities and not on what I did or didn’t have.

Praying God’s Word Today

Lord, I am awed by the many times in Scripture when the gospel writers, in crafting their divinely inspired narratives, wrote the words, “Jesus came . . .”  To the home of a synagogue official whose daughter awaited healing (Matt. 9:23).  To the town where Zacchaeus lived, awaiting a new heart (Luke 19:5).  To disciples cowering behind closed doors following His death and resurrection, awaiting belief (John 20:19).  I praise You today, Lord Jesus, for coming to us . . . for coming to me.  (Beth)

I thank You for Your grace and mercies toward me and my family.  I pray that we will never cease to trust You and look to You for our provision.  You have said in Your Word that You are our Keeper and Protector.  Help us to always remember that.  I pray for Your protection over our finances and our jobs.  Encourage us during uncertain times and help us to trust in You.  In Jesus Name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

