John – Day 2: Amazing!

Standard

Text:  Luke 5:1-11

As the crowd was pressing in on Jesus to hear God’s word, He was standing by Lake Gennesaret.  He saw two boats at the edge of the lake; the fishermen had left them and were washing their nets.  He got into one of the boats, which belonged to Simon, and asked him to put out a little from the land.  Then He sat down and was teaching the crowds from the boat.

When He had finished speaking, He said to Simon, “Put out into deep water and let down your nets for a catch.”

“Master,” Simon replied, “we’ve worked hard all night long and caught nothing!  But at Your word, I’ll let down the nets.”

When they did this, they caught a great number of fish, and their nets began to tear.  So they signaled to their partners in the other boat to come and help them; they came and filled both boats so full that they began to sink.

When Simon Peter saw this, he fell at Jesus’ knees and said, “Go away from me, because I’m a sinful man, Lord!”  For he and all those with him were amazed at the catch of fish they took, and so were James and John, Zebedee’s sons, who were Simon’s partners.

“Don’t be afraid,” Jesus told Simon.  “From now on you will be catching people!”  Then they brought the boats to land, left everything, and followed Him.

Stop and Consider

  1. When was the last time Christ amazed you?  How did it come about?  What did it change about your or someone else’s circumstances? The last time Christ amazed me was over the past several months.  He opened a door of opportunity for me that I was not expecting and allowed me to begin working at a fantastic job doing Kingdom work with people that love Him and want to serve Him.  I know my work has purpose and meaning.
  2. Our natural tendency is to lose our sense of wonder over time.  But why?  What causes the human heart and spirit to find God less awe-inspiring than He actually is? This is a tough answer to put into words.  I guess we get distracted by the day-to-day hum-drum of everyday life.  I know I do.  I think we also tend to not focus on things we can’t see.  If we don’t constantly see God acting or moving, we forget He is there right beside us.  We start thinking of Him as “up there” – separate from us.  And that is just not the case.  His Spirit dwells within us, and He is with us wherever we go.  We have to work to keep that truth in front of us.
  3. Consider where you are in this present season of your life.  Keep in mind that even our spiritual practices can become very routine.  Also keep in mind that living in what we’ll call the Great Adventure doesn’t mean you don’t have challenges or even times of suffering, but it means that you can “see” and take part in the breathtaking work of Christ in your life.  What glimpses have you seen of this already?  What might be out there waiting for you? When I started praying for God’s will to be done in my life (during the Psalms of Ascent study), a door of opportunity opened for me that I never dreamed possible.  God took me out of an unfulfilling secular job and placed me in an organization working for a godly cause with people who love Jesus and want to help others find Him.  I had been unhappy at my job for over a year, but couldn’t find anything else that I wanted to apply for.  Once I began praying for God’s will, and not mine, it was like a big neon sign lit up that said “THIS WAY”. I wasn’t even looking for a job when He put me together with my current employer, but I knew immediately that it was where I was supposed to be.

Praying God’s Word Today

O Lord, I know that it is only by the abundance of Your faithful love that I have been welcomed into Your house.  Therefore, I bow down toward Your holy temple in reverence (Psalm 5:7), amazed at who You are and what You do.  You work so that people will be in awe of You, Lord God (Eccles. 3:14).  And even if only a few pay attention, may I be one who never grows weary of seeing Your glory in all things, even ordinary things. (Beth)

Help me to always remember that all good and perfect things come from You.  You are for me.  Help me to never take that lightly or for granted.  Help me to always be in awe of the fact that the God of the universe really, truly cares about my life and wants a relationship with me.

Leave a Reply

