John – Day 3: Preparation Day

Standard

Text:  John 1:35-42

Again the next day, John (Note:  the Baptist, not the disciple) was standing with two of his disciples.  When he saw Jesus passing by, he said, “Look!  The Lamb of God!”

The two disciples heard him say this and followed Jesus.  When Jesus turned and noticed them following Him, He asked them, “What are you looking for?”

They said to Him, “Rabbi” (which means “Teacher”), “where are You staying?”

“Come and you’ll see,” he replied.  So they went and saw where He was staying, and they stayed with Him that day.  It was about 10 in the morning.

Andrew, Simon Peter’s brother, was one of the two who heard John and followed Him.  He first found his own brother Simon and told him, “We have found the Messiah!” (which means “Anointed One”), and he brought Simon to Jesus.

Stop and Consider

  1. At this season of your life, what do you sense you need most:  preparation for a fresh work of God?  Repair from a tear?  Restoration from a fall?  I am definitely preparing for a fresh work of God.  I know I have mentioned it ad nauseum, but the change in my career path has given me the opportunity to be able to directly impact the lives of people who desperately need to know about the love of God.  They need to know that they are loved and that nothing that they have done or are contemplating doing can stop God from loving them and healing them.  The knowledge that something I might say might change the course of their lives is both humbling and terrifying.
  2. How could you demonstrate your willingness to follow Him faithfully into whatever He knows is next for you?  I have done this by leaving a job I had for 6 1/2 years that was steady and stable and following God’s lead by taking a job with a non-profit organization and trusting that He will provide because of my obedience.

Thoughts from Beth

Joshua 3:5 contains a wonderful challenge:  “Consecrate yourselves, because the LORD will do wonders among you tomorrow.”  God can perform a miracle in any one of us at any time, but amazing things happen when you and I are willing to get prepared for a mighty work of God.  Included in that mighty work will most assuredly be what we need most – whether a fresh work (emphasis mine), a repair, or a full-scale restoration.

Praying God’s Word Today

Father, You have said that if we will purify ourselves from the works of the natural flesh – the sinful inclinations that constantly threaten to trip us up and leave us ineffective – we will be a special instrument in Your hand, set apart, useful to the Master, prepared for every good work (2 Tim. 2:21).  I offer these on the altar today, Lord, joining those who are fleeing from youthful passions and are instead pursuing righteousness, faith, love, and peace, calling on You from a pure heart (2 Tim. 2:22).

I pray that You will enable me to put away all distractions that keep me from wholly devoting myself to building my relationship with You – pride, laziness, arrogance, worry, envy, anxiety, unforgiveness, bitterness, busyness, selfishness.  Help me to place knowing You at the top of my to-do list.  Help me to make that my first priority so that everything else will fall into place.

One thought on “John – Day 3: Preparation Day

Leave a Reply

