John: Day 4: A Father’s Dilemma

Standard

Text:  Mark 1: 16-20

As He was passing along by the Sea of Galilee, He saw Simon and Andrew, Simon’s brother.  They were casting a net into the sea, since they were fishermen.

“Follow Me,” Jesus told them, “and I will make you fish for people!”

Immediately they left their nets and followed Him.  Going on a little farther, He saw James the son of Zebedee and his brother John.  They were in their boat mending their nets.  Immediately He called them, and they left their father Zebedee in the boat with the hired men and followed Him.

Stop and Consider

  1. When have you been called to give up something you were just beginning to enjoy and appreciate?  Six months after moving into a new house, we packed up and moved four hours away to start all over – new jobs, new home, new everything.
  2. What have you learned from seasons of separation – those moments when change and transition leave you feeling at a loss?  I have learned that the only person you can truly ever place your trust in is Jesus.  People will always let you down and do what is in their own best interests, even those who care about you the most.

Praying God’s Word Today

Father, You inspired John to write of Your love being revealed among us in this way:  You sent Your One and Only Son into the world so that we might live through Him (1 John 4:9).  So I know, Lord, that You are even more acquainted with loss and separation that I am.  May I trust Your heart to know that You are working all things together for the good of those who love You:  those who are called according to Your purpose (Rom. 8:28). – Beth

I pray that I will always trust You and know that You are for me, regardless of what is going on in my life.  May I always look to You for fulfillment and not other people.  I pray for protection over my family and loved ones.  I also pray that when You decide it is time for us to part, whether here on earth or through You calling them Home, I will deal with those circumstances with grace and trust in You to make sure everything works out.

Leave a Reply

