John: Day 5: Time with Jesus

Standard

Text:  John 2: 1-2, 12

On the third day a wedding took place in Cana of Galilee.  Jesus’ mother was there, and Jesus and His disciples were invited to the wedding as well.

After this, He went down to Capernaum, together with His mother, His brothers, and His disciples, and they stayed there only a few days.

Stop and Consider

  1. What kinds of benefits begin to flow into your life after spending long periods of time with Christ?  How do your attitudes and perspectives begin to change?  When people devote themselves to studying the life of Jesus and His words, they start to become more like Him in their actions and attitudes.  I know that I always have a better, gentler, more compassionate attitude toward others if I have been disciplined in my prayer and study time.  When I start slacking off, I can clearly see my old attitudes creeping back in.  Spending time with Jesus makes you start seeing people as He sees them.  You also begin to expect magnificent things to occur.
  2. Let your imagination run awhile.  What do you suppose were some of the things that these early followers immediately saw in Jesus?  What do you think caught their eye and fastened them to His leadership?   Barely leashed, yet controlled power; intensity; authenticity; love for people; humor; joy; peace; self-assuredness but not arrogance; self-awareness but not self-esteem issues; purpose; integrity; genuineness; generosity; kindness; supernatural abilities.

This song hit me hard the first time I heard it.  The lyrics are so incredibly true.  It’s called Give Me Your Eyes and it is by Brandon Heath.

Praying God’s Word Today

Lord Jesus, Your prophet declared that You had no form or splendor that we should look at You, no appearance that we should desire You.  You were despised and rejected by men, a man of suffering who knew what sickness was.  You were like one people turned away from; You were despised, and we didn’t value You (Isa. 53:2-3).  Yet some did.  And as I spend time with You today, I want to be like those early disciples who saw something about You that caused grown men to walk away from established lives and keep following You to the death.  You are beautiful, Lord, to me. – Beth

Help me to focus on Your awesomeness when the regular things of life start to distract me.  Don’t let me get so caught up in what is going on around me that I forget what You have done for me and start focusing on myself.

Leave a Reply

