God Will Be Gracious

Standard

I have a friend.

A good friend.

A best friend.

A friend I have known for almost 15 years and is practically family.  😉  I won’t name names because she would be mortified (even though she knows I would get a kick out of it), but she knows who she is. 

We have literally been through EVERYTHING together, and sometimes it is uncanny how we end up going through similar things at similar times.  These past few years have been no different. 

We were both in places in our careers where we just either knew we really shouldn’t be or just really didn’t want to be.  I knew it was time for me to find another job, and she, though she loved her job, really wanted to be home with her kids. 

So we both prayed.  For ourselves and for each other.  For a long, long, long time.  We prayed for a sign from God.  Some type of answer one way or the other instead of just silence.  Yes or no.  ANYTHING but nothing.    I prayed for a big flashing neon sign, because I sometimes don’t do well with subtle. 

A few months ago I got my big flashing neon sign.  It came with an awesome new job (and, yes, I will eventually stop going on and on and on about it in the blog, but not just yet 🙂 ) where I am surrounded by other people who love God and dedicate their lives to doing His work daily. 

And I was (and still am, if you can’t tell) very excited.  And I couldn’t stop going on and on and on about it.  And my friend was genuinely happy for me.  But I know her, and I know that deep down she was saying, “Okay, God, where’s MY sign!”  Because I would have been saying the same thing, except I probably would have told her to shut up about her great new job already if our places had been reversed.  Which is probably why I got my sign first.  🙂 

She is a much nicer person that me. 😉  (But if that is ever used against me, I will make sure to delete it from the blog.) 

Anyway, my friend kept praying, and I kept praying for her, and I’m sure a lot of other friends were, too.  And guess what?

She got her big flashing neon sign.

Granted, it wasn’t the sign she was hoping for, but it was definitely an answer.  And it was a DOOZY.  😉 

Which leads me to what prompted me to even post about it on my blog.  This morning during my quiet time I was reading in Isaiah and came to Isaiah 30:18-21:

God Will Be Gracious

Therefore the LORD will wait, that He may be gracious to you;  and therefore He will be exalted, and He may have mercy on you.  For the LORD is a God of justice; blessed are all those who wait for Him.

For the people shall dwell in Zion at Jerusalem; you shall weep no more.  He will be very gracious to you at the sound of your cry; when he hears it, He will answer you.  And though the Lord gives you the bread of adversity and the water of affliction, yet your teachers will not be moved into a corner anymore, but your eyes shall see your teachers.  Your ears shall hear a word behind you, saying, “This is the way, walk in it,” whenever you turn to the right hand or whenever you turn to the left. 

God knew what he was doing by making us wait it out – by making us go through adversity and affliction.  His timing is always perfect.  He knew exactly when to give us our signs (teachers) so that we would know the way to walk. 

But God answered my prayer in the way I wanted Him to.  And though He gave my friend a clear sign, His answer to her desire, at least at this point in time, was “No, that isn’t what I want for you.”  Why?  Only He knows.  My prayer now is that I will be sensitive to her disappointment (even as I hope that the sign she got will go a LONG way toward alleviating some of that) and not go on and on and on about what an awesome job she has. 😉  I also pray that she will be accepting of the answer that was given and not just surrender to, but embrace the road God as placed her on at this point in her life. 

Love ya, girl.

Leave a Reply

