John Day 7: Scenes on a Sabbath Day

Standard

Text:  Mark 1:29-34

Now as soon as they had come out of the synagogue, they entered the house of Simon and Andrew, with James and John.  But Simon’s wife’s mother lay sick with a fever, and they told Him about her at once.  So He came and took her by the hand and lifted her up, and immediately the fever left her.  And she served them.

At evening, when the sun had set, they brought to Him all who were sick, and those who were demon-possessed.  And the whole city was gathered together at the door.  Then He healed many who were sick with various diseases, and cast out many demons; and He did not allow the demons to speak, because they knew Him.

Stop and Consider

  1. John was a human being just like you.  How do you suppose the sights and sounds of Jesus’ first miracles impacted him and other followers of Christ?  I think it would have awed and amazed them and made them want to be around Jesus even more and tell others around him.
  2. Think about the last time you encountered someone who was suffering terribly.  What kinds of feelings did you have in response to their suffering?  Discomfort, empathy, wishing there was something I could do to help, thankfulness for my own blessings, sympathy, and some embarassment that I was experiencing blessings and answered prayers in my own life while they were wondering what was going on in theirs.
  3. What would the world think if they could see the compassion that’s on display in Jesus’ treatment of people in this scene from Scripture?  Assuming they may not be reading it any time soon, how could we help them see it in some other way?  Sadly, most people would probably think He was after something or had an ulterior motive.  People are loathe to trust in the good intentions of others these days.  To help people see the love of Jesus, we have to be genuine.  We must be on guard of our actions and reactions so that we aren’t labeled hypocrites.  Again, this doesn’t mean that we turn a blind eye to blatant sin around us and just accept it as a matter of “personal choice” between that person and God, because Jesus NEVER did that.  It just means we have to “speak the truth in LOVE” at all times instead of just merely passing judgment. 

Key Beth Statement That Stood Out to Me:

Jesus doesn’t just love church.  He loves people.

Praying God’s Word Today

It’s only because of Your faithful love and mercy, O Lord, that we do not perish, for Your mercies never end.  They are new every morning, just as they were new on that Sabbath morning so many centuries ago.  How great is Your faithfulness, Lord God of glory!  You are my portion, says my soul, therefore I put all my hope in You (Lam. 3:22-24).

Help me to always remember that I need nothing except Your presence.  You watch over the way of the righteous.  You are a shield around me, Oh Yahweh; You bestow glory on me and lift up my head.  Keep me safe, O God, for in You I take refuge.  You watch over me and do not sleep.  You will keep me from all harm – You will watch over my life.  The LORD will fulfill His purpose for me.  Help me to realize that my purpose is to bring glory and honor to You.  That’s all.  Soften my heart toward people who blaspheme and smear Your beautiful Name.  Help me to see them as You do – to feel compassion on them because of their separation from You, because they do not know You.

Leave a Reply

