John Day 9: Ambush at Dawn

Standard

Text:  Mark 1:35-39

Now in the morning, having risen a long while before daylight, He went out and departed to a solitary place; and there He prayed.  And Simon and those who were with Him searched for Him.  When they found Him, they said to Him, “Everyone is looking for You.”

But He said to them, “Let us go into the next towns, that I may preach there also, because for this purpose I have come forth.”

And He was preaching in their synagogues throughout all Galilee, and casting out demons.

Stop and Consider

  1. Notice that these “companions” of Jesus had not been called disciples yet.  What do you think was still missing from their carton of character traits before they could legitimately be known as learners and pupils of the Messiah?  They did not truly understand that He was God in human form.  They still saw themselves as on the same level, as evidenced by the way they scolded Him for “sneaking away.”
  2. What keeps any of us from putting higher value on the times we spend with the Lord in solitary places?  Most times we are too distracted to just sit and be with God.  We also have a hard time focusing on Someone we can’t see, so our minds tend to wander to other things.  We may not feel like we are accomplishing much since we can’t physically see, hear, or feel God’s response most times.  And to be quite honest, most of us would rather not spend time alone with God because if we really got to know Him, we would have to face the fact that we are simply living our lives for ourselves, not for Him.  We would have to be honest about disregarding His Word and His statutes and living life the way we want to, not the way He has called us to.  If we don’t really get to know Him, we can continue to pretend that He is the “big grandpa in the sky” that will just pat people on the head and say “there, there, it’s okay” when they sin.  That is SO not who He is.

Praying God’s Word Today

Dear Lord Jesus, I echo Your words to the Father as I approach Your throne today:  “I know that You always hear Me” (John 11:42).  And as I rise up to leave from this place, may I say with You again, “Father, I thank You that You heard Me” (John 11:41).  What a privilege to be welcomed into Your presence.  I never want to tread here lightly.

Help me to not become so automatic in spitting out regurgitated prayers that I don’t stop to marvel at the fact that You are actually listening and that You want me to be listening in return.  Teach me to talk to You as if You were sitting right in front of me.  Let me not worry about finding the “right words” or trying to sound holy.  Teach me to just talk to You as my friend and confidant.  You are already my Savior – now I want the relationship that comes next.  Lord, You know it all anyway, so help me to become open and transparent with You because I need that, not You.

Leave a Reply

