John Day 10: Behind the Veil

Standard

Before I start this post, I have to say something.  It has been a while since I have posted due to various “busy-ness” that has been swirling around me.  When I opened my devotional this morning to start this post, I had to laugh at the title.  Last night was my Beth Moore Esther class, and one of the things she talked about was how God sometimes puts a veil in front of us so that we can’t know exactly what He is up to.  This devotional was about how He sometimes pulls the veil back and gives us a peek at His power.  Coincidence?  Hmmmm….

Text:  Mark 5:35-43

While Jesus was still speaking, some men came from the house of Jairus, the synagogue ruler.  “Your daughter is dead,” they said.  “Why bother the teacher any more?”

Ignoring what they said, Jesus told the synagogue ruler, “Don’t be afraid; just believe.”

He did not let anyone follow Him except Peter, James and John the brother of James.  When they came to the home of the synagogue ruler, Jesus saw a commotion, with people crying and wailing loudly.  He went in and said to them, “Why all this commotion and wailing?  The child is not dead but asleep.”  But they laughed at Him.

After He put them all out, He took the child’s father and mother and the disciples who were with Him, and went in where the child was.  He took her by the hand and said to her, “Talitha koum!” (which means, “Little girl, I say to you, get up!”).  Immediately the girl stood up and walked around (she was twelve years old).  At this they were completely astonished.  He gave strict orders not to let anyone know about this, and told them to give her something to eat.

Stop and Consider

  1. Being in the same room with death has a riveting effect on anyone.  What do you think Jesus had in mind by asking Peter, James, and John here to witness this moment? I think He wanted to let them know that He was so much more than they could even imagine.
  2. Is there anything you’ve given up for dead in your life, assuming it was beyond Christ’s power to reverse or transform?  How could He bring life into this very situation? There have been several times when I have felt that way – always in relationships that I thought could never be repaired.  God has taught me that He can heal hurts even when I can’t do anything to make it better.
  3. Among other things, this is a lesson in keeping our relationships honest and authentic – our love expressed, our vows kept, our forgiveness current.  Is there anything in your life right now that another’s death could leave unresolved? There are some people in my family who never cease to amaze me with their callousness and self-absorption.  I would love to be able to sit down and talk about how this behavior hurts me and everyone else on the receiving end.  I know, however, that it would not do any good because these people refuse to acknowledge they have a problem – it is always everyone else’s fault.  Every time I have tried to discuss this, I am accused of being not understanding and of oppressing them.  I just have to do as Paul admonishes and, as far as it is in my power, to live in peace with everyone.  Sometimes it means keeping my mouth shut.  Sometimes it means saying a quiet word to diffuse the situation.  Sometimes it means removing myself from the situation.  I just have to trust that God will bless my obedience.  Jesus will handle the rest.

Praying God’s Word Today

Lord, just as You showed Your disciples, You are the One who destroys the burial shroud – the oppressive weight it presses down upon us – the shroud over all peoples, the sheet that covers all the nations.  You, in fact, have destroyed death forever.  And You will one day wipe away the tears from every face and remove death’s disgrace from the whole earth, for You have spoken it, Lord God (Isa. 25:7-8).  You give us freedom from everything that threatens to keep us in bondage, from everything that threatens to keep us from You.

Help me to always remember that.  Don’t let me dwell on past mistakes or hold unforgiveness in my heart.  I want to always live in Your freedom and never be in bondage to my past like some people I know.  I want to honor Your sacrifice by fully accepting what Your sacrifice enabled me to be – joyous, happy, forgiven, holy, righteous, clean, pure.

One thought on “John Day 10: Behind the Veil

Leave a Reply

