Just Because I Need a Reminder . . .

Standard

The Lord is merciful and faithful.  Because of His great faithfulness I am not consumed.  His compassions never fail.  They are new every morning; great is His faithfulness.  The Lord is my portion; therefore I will wait for Him.  He is good to those whose hope is in Him, to the one who seeks Him. (Lam. 3:22-25)

Though the fig tree does not bud and there are no grapes on the vines, though the olive crop fails and the fields produce no food, though there are no sheep in the pen and no cattle in the stalls, yet I will rejoice in You, my Lord, I will be joyful in God my Savior.  You, Sovereign Lord, are my strength; You make my feet like the feet of a deer, You enable me to go on the heights.  (Hab. 3:17-19)  Father, how inconceivable but true that you can take me to heights far exceeding the depths which I’ve known.

For You know the plans You have for me, Lord.  Plans to prosper me and not to harm me, plans to give me a hope and a future.  (Jer. 29:11)

Father, continue to bring me along so that I can also rejoice in my sufferings because I know that suffering produces perseverence. (Rom. 5:3)

Lord, in my heart I plan my course, but You determine my steps.  (Prov. 16:9)  Life is not going as I planned.  I am so grateful that You are not caught off guard.  You knew everything that would befall me.  Please direct my steps as You determine.  I need You, Lord.  Carry me when I cannot walk.

 I cry to You, Lord, in my trouble.  Save me from my distress. (Ps. 107:13)

Help me to trust in You at all times; help me to pour out my heart to You, God, for You are my refuge. (Ps. 62:8)  O Lord, help me not be afraid to speak to You what’s on my heart.  Your Word says You know my thoughts and my actions, and You know what I’m going to say before a word forms on my tongue. (Ps. 139:1-4)  You will never be offended when I pour out my earnest despair and bitterness that wells in my heart.  You desire for me to cry out in my agony, and You can take my feelings of anger, dismay, and confusion.  In pouring my heart out to You, I rid myself of soul-cancerous  bitterness.  I also make room for You to pour in Your healing.

I cry out to You, God Most High, to You who fulfills Your purpose for me.  You send from heaven and save me, rebuking those who hotly pursue me.  You send Your love and Your faithfulness. (Ps. 57:2-3)

God, You are my refuge and strength, an ever-present help in trouble.  Therefore I will not fear, though the earth give way and the mountains fall into the heart of the sea, though its waters roar and foam and the mountains quake with their surging . . . . I will be still and know You are God.  You, Lord Almighty, are with me.  You, God of Jacob, are my fortress.  (Ps. 46:1-2, 10-11)

Help me, Lord, to finally comprehend what it means to consider it pure joy whenever I face trials of many kinds.  Help me to know that the testing of my faith develops perseverance.  Perseverance must finish its work in me so that I may be mature and complete, lacking nothing.  (James 1:2-4)  Lord, You are not asking me to rejoice that I have lost someone or something precious, but You know that, in my loss I can rejoice in all I have to gain if I’m willing.  Never must my suffering be in vain.

Help me, Lord, to know beyond a shadow of a doubt that in all things You work for the good of those who love You, who have been called according to Your purpose.  (Rom. 8:28)  Please help me to see the condition in that promise.  You are not obligated to work all things together for good for those who neither love You now are called according to Your purpose.  You obligate Yourself to this awesome promise when I offer You my aching heart and commit myself and my sufferings to Your good purposes.  If I do, You will do more with my life than I could ever conceive.  (1 Cor. 2:9)

Lord, after this suffering, let it be said that what has happened to me has really served to advance the gospel.  As a result, make my Savior clear to all those around me.  Because of my suffering and willing perseverance, cause others to be encouraged to speak the Word of God more courageously and fearlessly.  (Phil. 1:12-14)

Lord God, Your Holy Spirit helps me in my weakness.  I do not know what I ought to pray for, but the Spirit Himself intercedes for me with groans that words cannot express.  And He who searches my heart knows the mind of the Spirit, because Your Spirit intercedes for me in accordance with Your will.  (Rom 8:26-27)

I trust in You, Lord, so I’ll let you rescue me.  Teach me to delight in You and deliver me, O God. (Ps. 22:8)

(All Prayers from “Praying God’s Word” by Beth Moore)

Leave a Reply

