John Day 12: High Horses

Standard

Text:  Luke 9:46-56

An argument started among the disciples as to which of them would be the greatest.  Jesus, knowing their thoughts, took a little child and had him stand beside him.  Then He said to them, “Whoever welcomes this little child in My name welcomes Me; and whoever welcomes Me welcomes the one who sent Me.  For he who is least among you all – he is the greatest.”

“Master,” said John, “we saw a man driving out demons in Your name and we tried to stop him, because he is not one of us.”

“Do not stop him,” Jesus said, “for whoever is not against you is for you.”

As the time approached for Him to be taken up to heaven, Jesus resolutely set out for Jerusalem.  And He sent messengers on ahead, who went into a Samaritan village to get things ready for Him; but the people there did not welcome Him, because He was heading to Jerusalem.  When the disciples James and John saw this, the asked, “Lord, do you want us to call fire down from heaven to destroy them?”  But Jesus turned and rebuked them, and they went to another village.

Stop and Consider

  1. Strange, isn’t it, that we can begin to take pride in the fact that God has humbled Himself to draw near us.  When do you feel this rising in you the most?  I most often feel this rising when I see people doing horrible, awful, hideous things, especially to others.  Things that I would never, ever consider doing – or that I THINK I would never consider doing.  Especially if people are actually proud of their behavior.  It is especially easy to feel prideful when it is other Christians who are being jerks just because they can.  It is easy to find oneself thinking, “Thank goodness I’m not like so-and-so” or “I would NEVER treat someone like so-and-so does.”  But the fact is, we are all capable of being jerks given the right combination of circumstances.  And even if we never actually outwardly express those feelings to those people we are upset with or just don’t get along with, we inwardly express them without reservation – forgetting that God can hear us.  It’s one thing to pour out your frustration to God.  I have done that many, many times.  But it is another to stew and plot and thing about how you will pay someone back. 
  2. How has God chosen to deal with this feeling in you?  And what is different about you when humility starts taking its place?   I need to realize that it is ONLY by His grace that I am not the same way.  I need to learn to see others as He does and love them where they are at.

Praying God’s Word Today

Lord, as You daily enlighten the eyes of my heart to know the hope of Your calling and the glorious riches of Your inheritance among the saints (Eph. 1:18), may I not exalt myself but only You, Lord.  For it is the immeasurable greatness of Your power, Lord Jesus, that has been given to us who believe, and all of it is according to the working of Your vast strength (Eph. 1:19), not from any effort of our own.

Help me to be humble in my dealings with others.  Help me to stop and pause when I feel self-righteousness or pride swelling up in me.  Give me Your eyes so that I may see others as You see them.  Soften my heart toward those who differ from me, and help me to see that they are not my enemy – Satan is.  Fill me with the knowledge of Your will in all wisdom and spiritual understanding, that I may walk worthy of You, fully pleasing You, being fruitful in every good work and increasing in the knowledge of You.

Leave a Reply

