John Day 14: Secret Missions

Standard

Text:  Luke 22:7-13

Then came the day of Unleavened Bread on which the Passover lamb had to be sacrificed.  Jesus sent Peter and John, saying, “Go and make preparations for us to eat the Passover.”

“Where do you want us to prepare for it?” they asked.

He replied, “As you enter the city, a man carrying a jar of water will meet you.  Follow him to the house that he enters, and say to the owner of the house, “The Teacher asks:  Where is the guest room, where I may eat the Passover with my disciples?”  He will show you a large upper room, all furnished.  Make preparations there.”

They left and found things just as Jesus had told them.  So they prepared the Passover.

Stop and Consider

  1. How deeply do you believe that each day is another opportunity to be on mission with God, that He has tasks in mind for you today that are specifically ordained for your life?  Over the past year, I have really felt this deeply.  It hasn’t always taken the form that I expected, but I can look back over the last few years of my life and see how God has been at work in and through me.  I am excited to see what things He has in store for me next.
  2. How does your response to the above question affect the way you approach your morning, your lunch hour, your free time at home or around town?  I try to make sure to start each day off in prayer and Bible study.  I have been more consciencious about doing this lately.  I also try, when possible, to spend some quiet time at lunch, even if it is only for a few minutes.  I need to be aware of balance in my life – to make sure that I have my priorities aligned properly.  God should always come first, followed by family, then everything else after that.  I also need to be aware of opportunities to positively impact and serve those around me, whether people I work with on a daily basis or someone I pass in a store and will never see again.  As Beth says, “Christ’s appointments are never haphazard.” 
  3. Think of one or two particular situations that are present in your life right now.  What “secrets” of God’s will and way are you learning as you go through these seasons of time?  First, I am learning that my history is tied to my destiny.  I have to embrace the things in my past that I might not necessarily be that proud of and allow God to work through them so I can be an effective worker in His kingdom.  Second, I am learning that God doesn’t work on our time table.  He might not necessarily give us what we think we need when we think we need it.  We must learn to be patient and trust that He is good and wants our good as well.  Third, I am learning that prayer will help us to find that patience we need in order to making it through our waiting period without going absolutely insane.  Learning to pray God’s Word back to Him has dramatically, fundamentally, and forever changed the way I pray.  I, quite honestly, didn’t know HOW to pray until just recently – and I’d been in church all my life!  I’ve found out that it isn’t hard, and it really isn’t something that you have to “learn” how to do.  God has given us His Word, and there is something somewhere in it that speaks to every experience we will face.  Simply open the book, and make His Word your prayer.  Isaiah 55:11 says, “So shall My word be that goes forth from My mouth; It shall not return to Me void, But it shall accomplish what I please, And it shall prosper in the thing for which I sent it.”  Second Timothy 2:11 tells us that, “If we are faithless, He remains faithful; He cannot deny Himself.”  I don’t think I am stretching it too far to that when we pray God’s promises for us back to Him, that He will hear us, because He cannot ignore the promises He had made.  It might not necessarily happen tomorrow, but God WILL do what He has said He would do.

Praying God’s Word Today

 Father, it gives me great encouragement to know that You are a friend to the upright, that You take us into Your confidence (Prov. 3:32).  And that because of being rightly related with You through Jesus Christ, we can understand Your teaching if we truly want to know Your will (John 7:17).

You have told me to ask, and it will be given to me; seek, and I will find; knock, and it will be opened for me.  (Matt. 7:7).  You have given me permission to boldy approach Your throne of grace (Heb 4:6).  Your face, LORD, I will seek (Ps. 27:8).  If I will trust in You and delight myself in You, You will give me the desires of my heart.  If I commit my life to You and trust in You, You will bring it to pass (Ps. 37:3-5).  Before You formed me in the womb You knew me; before I was born You sanctified me (Jer. 1:5).  O LORD, God of heaven, the great and awesome God, who keeps His covenant of love with those who love Him and obey His commands, let Your ear be attentive and Your eyes open to hear the prayer Your servant is praying before You day and night.  Let Your ear be attentive to the prayer of this Your servant and to the prayer of Your servants who delight in revering Your name (Neh. 1: 5-6, 11).

 

Leave a Reply

