John Day 15: Lean In

Standard

Text:  John 13:21-30

After he had said this, Jesus was troubled in spirit and testified, “I tell you the truth, one of you is going to betray Me.”

His disciples stared at one another, at a loss to know which of them He meant.  One of them, the disciple whom Jesus loved, was reclining next to Him.  Simon Peter motioned to this disciple and said, “Ask Him which one He means.”

Leaning back against Jesus, he asked him, “Lord, who is it?”

Jesus answered, “It is the one to whom I will give this piece of bread when I have dipped it in the dish.”  Then, dipping the piece of bread, He gave it to Judas Iscariot, son of Simon.  As soon as Judas took the bread, Satan entered into Him.

“What you are about to do, do quickly,” Jesus told him, but no one at the meal understood why Jesus said this to him.  Since Judas had charge of the money, some thought Jesus was telling him to buy what was needed for the Feast, or to give something to the poor.  As soon as Judas had taken the bread, he went out.  And it was night.

Stop and Consider

  1. What kind of person is most likely to be “close” to Jesus?  Does it require a certain temperament or disposition – a particular kind of upbringing or background? I think that the person most likely to be close to Jesus is the person who is willing to humble themselves and become a servant and seek after Him.  The person who becomes like a little child, believing and trusting in Jesus at face value, not questioning or trying to figure everything out.
  2. What are the best parts of being close to Him on a regular, ongoing basis?  What do you miss most when you’re not? Closeness to Jesus brings out godly qualities – like the fruits of the Spirit.  Distance invites Satan to enter in and rob us of our Christ-likeness.  Personally, when I am praying and studying daily, I feel a huge sense of safety and security.  My faith increases and I know with confidence that God is for me, not against me, and that He knows the plans He has for me.  When I am not praying and studying daily, old thoughts of worry and doubt creep in and steal my joy and make me forget that I am His and that He fights for me daily.

Praying God’s Word Today

I gaze on You in the sanctuary to see Your strength and Your glory (Ps. 63:2).  And when on my bed, I think of You.  I meditate on You during the night watches because You are my help; I will rejoice in the shadow of Your wings.  I follow close to You; Your right hand holds on to me (Ps. 63:6-8).  In public, in private, my desire is to be close to You.

Renew a steadfast and right spirit within me.  You are a shield around me.  You bestow glory on me and lift up my head (Ps. 3:3).  You are a refuge for the oppressed, a stronghold in times of trouble.  Those who know Your name will trust in You, for You, Lord, have never forsaken those who seek You (Ps. 9:9-10).  Show me Your ways, O Lord, teach me Your paths; guide me in Your truth and teach me, for You are God my Savior, and my hope is in You all day long (Ps. 25:4-5).  I want to draw near to You with a sincere heart in the full assurance of faith, having my heart sprinkled to cleanse me from a guilty conscience and having my body washed with pure water (Heb. 10:22).

Leave a Reply

