John Day 18: Mother and Son

Standard

Text:  John 19:17-27

Carrying His own cross, He went out to the place of the Skull (which in Aramaic is called Golgotha).  Here they crucified Him, and with Him two others – one on each side and Jesus in the middle.

Pilate had a notice prepared and fastened to the cross.  It read:  JESUS OF NAZARETH, THE KING OF THE JEWS.  Many of the Jews read this sign, for the place where Jesus was crucified was near the city, and the sign was written in Aramaic, Latin and Greek.  The chief priests of the Jews protested to Pilate, “Do not write ‘The King of the Jews,’ but that this man claimed to be the king of the Jews.”

Pilate answered, “What I have written, I have written.”

When the soldiers crucified Jesus, they took his clothes, dividing them into four shares, one for each of them, with the undergarment remaining.  This garment was seamless, woven in one piece from top to bottom.

“Let’s not tear it,” they said to one another.  “Let’s decide by lot who will get it.”

This happened that the scripture might be fulfilled which said, “They divided My garments among them and cast lots for My clothing.”  So this is what the soldiers did.

Near the cross of Jesus stood His mother, His mother’s sister, Mary the wife of Clopas, and Mary Magdalene.  When Jesus saw His mother there, and the disciple whom He loved standing nearby, He said to His mother, “Dear woman, here is your son,” and to the disciple, “Here is your mother.”  From that time on, this disciple took her into his home.

Stop and Consider

  1. How do you imagine the fulfillment of this responsibility played itself out over the course of John and Mary’s remaining years?   John would have taken Mary into his home and provided for her until her death.  I am sure that he treated her especially well, as if she were his own mother.  He probably enjoyed hearing her tell of stories from Jesus’ childhood as much as she enjoyed hearing him tell of all the miraculous things he witnessed Jesus do.
  2. What responsibilities has the Lord placed upon you?  And just as this one was between John and Mary, how are your responsibilities expressions of His care for you and others?  My first and foremost responsibility is to my family – my husband and son.  My number one job is to be a godly wife and mother, to care for my family’s needs by being financially responsible, emotionally available, and to have a servant’s heart so that the love of Christ is seen through me.  My next responsibility is to my extended family and friends – my brothers and sisters in Christ.  I am to be a loyal friend, a confidante, and an encourager.  Everything else comes after those things.  God has placed people in my life to help me grow so that I can then help someone else grow by being a positive influence in their lives.
  3. This question is hard for most of us to answer, but think of it as a tribute to God and His gifting grace rather than self-promotion.  What has He made “simply different” about you?  And how can you use this to bring honor to Him?  I learn easily.  I am able to grasp things quickly and then perform tasks well based on what I have learned.  I am intelligent and good with technology.  I can use these gifts to assist others in their work and to do my work quickly and efficiently.  I am using my grasp of technology and “gadgets” to serve in my church’s media ministry, and also to help other ministries and individuals increase their internet presence.

Praying God’s Word Today

I know, Lord, that You are able to make every grace overflow to me, so that in every way, always having everything I need, I may excel in every good work You have placed before me (2 Cor. 9:8).  I stand today secure in both Your calling and Your equipping, trusting in Your Word, thankful that I can be complete in You (2 Tim. 3:17). 

Let me not forget that I can do all things when you strengthen me (Phil. 4:13).  Help me to lay aside everything that would distract me from following You – anger, irritation, hurt feelings, pride.  Help me to also set a better example for my family.  Help me to have a servant’s heart and attitude.  I want to be a bearer of good fruit so that my life reflects You.  Whatever I do, may I work at it with all my heart, as working for You, not for men, since I know that I will receive an inheritance from You as a reward.  It is You I am serving, and no one else (Col. 3:23-24).

 

Leave a Reply

