John Day 21: Da-Bees

Standard

Text:  John 21:1-7a

After these things Jesus showed Himself again to the disciples at the Sea of Tiberias, and in this way He showed Himself:  Simon Peter, Thomas called the Twin, Nathanael of Cana in Galilee, the sons of Zebedee, and two others of His disciples were together.  Simon Peter said to them, “I am going fishing.”

They said to him, “We are going with you also.”  They went out and immediately got into the boat, and that night they caught nothing.  But when the morning had now come, Jesus stood on the shore; yet the disciples did not know that it was Jesus.  Then Jesus said to them, “Children, have you any food?”

They answered Him, “No.”

And He said to them, “Cast the net on the right side of the boat, and you will find some.”  So they cast, and now they were not able to draw it in because of the multitude of fish.

Therefore that disciple whom Jesus loved said to Peter, “It is the Lord!”

Stop and Consider

  1. What do you typically do when time is hanging heavy, spiritually speaking – when you’re is that antsy, uncomfortable gap between asking for guidance and receiving directions?  Worry, read the Bible, do things to help me relax – read, play games, watch fun shows, take a hot bath, play with my dog, spend time with my family, eat.  🙂
  2. The disciples found themselves in this same kind of “what do we do now?” spiritual limbo.  What do you make of their decision to go fishing?  They went back to what was familiar – what gave them comfort and control.  Something that they could just DO without having to think about it.  

Praying God’s Word Today

Lord, the reason You have shown us such vivid proof of Your power is so we will know that You are God, that there is no other besides You (Deut. 4:35).  Today I recognize and keep in mind that You are God in heaven above and on earth below.  There is no other.  So I will keep Your statutes and be faithful to Your commands (Deut. 4:39-40), resting in the knowledge of Your powerful reality until You show me the next path to take.

Show me Your ways.  Teach me Your paths.  Make my heart more like Yours.  Help me to have thicker skin when it comes to people hurting my feelings or turning down my attempts to reach out to them.  Help me to continue to pray for them even in the midst of my hurt.  Help me to also be quick to forgive if they reach back out to me.  I don’t want to be a grudge-holder.  Help me to focus on You and Your will and do that is honoring to You.  May Your words heal my hurts.   

 

Leave a Reply

