John Day 22: Diving in the Deep End

Standard

Text:  John 21:7b-14

As soon as Simon Peter heard him say, “It is the Lord,” he wrapped his outer garment around him (for he had taken it off) and jumped into the water.  The other disciples followed in the boat, towing the net full of fish, for they were not far from shore, about a hundred yards.  When they landed, they saw a fire of burning coals there with fish on it, and some bread.

Jesus said to them, “Bring some of the fish you have just caught.”

Simon Peter climbed aboard and dragged the net ashore.  It was full of large fish, 153, but even with so many the net was not torn.  Jesus said to them, “Come and have breakfast.”  None of the disciples dared ask him, “Who are you?”  They knew it was the Lord.  Jesus came, took the bread and gave it to them, and did the same with the fish.  This was now the third time Jesus appeared to his disciples after he was raised from the dead.

Stop and Consider

  1. Can this kind of impetuousity ever square with mature Christianity?  Under what conditions and situations do you find it called for?  Yes.  There are times that we need to just act based on what we see or know – life if someone is hurting or in trouble, or if we see God up ahead.  Jesus came so that we might have joy and abundant life.  We also need to be able to ENJOY life with Him.
  2. What happens to those who lose (or never discover) their ability to cut loose with Jesus every  now and then?   They become legalistic, judgmental Pharisees who think anything and everything fun or pleasurable is sin.  Unfortunately, a LOT of Christians fall into that category.

Praying God’s Word Today

Lord, You reached down from on high and took hold of me.  You pulled me out of deep waters (Ps. 18:16).  For this if nothing else, I dive headfirst today into the deep waters of worship.  Yes, my enemy was too strong for me, confronting me in the day of my distress, but You were my support.  You brought me out to a wide-open place and rescued me because You delighted in me (Ps. 18:17-19).  What incredible, unthinkable grace!  Receive today my unrestrained praise.

I will love You, O LORD, my strength.  You are my rock and my fortress and my deliverer; my God, my strength, in whom I will trust.  I will call upon You, for You are worthy to be praised.  You will save me from my enemies.  My cries will always be heard by You.  You will light my lamp; You will enlighten my darkness.  Your word is proven.  Enlarge my path under me so that my feet do not slip.  Arm me with strength for battle.   Vindicate me by Your righteousness.  Contend with those who contend with  me.  You are my avenger.

Leave a Reply

