Daily Devo – August 24, 2010

Standard

Key Verse:

“And because we are his children, God has sent the Spirit of his Son into our hearts, prompting us to call out, Abba, Father.” Galatians 4:6 (NLT)

It was about how the Bible is God’s letter to us, and the writer was writing about how many times, she just puts it aside.  Zinger.  I’ve gotten lazy about doing my studying lately, too.  I spent the first 6 months of this year in a place of intensely seeking God and praying for deliverance.  Once it came, I was just so TIRED.  I wanted to just rest for a while.  But now it’s time to get back to working on my relationship with God.  The writer states:

“I find in Scripture that Jesus knows what I’ve been feeling, but He reminds me that He sees me. He affirms that I have discovered real treasure, and encourages me to hang on to it, even in the hard times. Especially in the hard times.”

I hung onto it in the hard times, but when times got better, I slacked off, like I so often do.  I don’t want to be a “fairweather friend” to Jesus.  I want to earnestly seek Him always, not just when I need to be rescued.

Leave a Reply

