Daily Devo – August 28, 2010

Standard

So, I am doing a daily “accountability” e-mail with my friends Stacy and Robin.   We have agreed to email each other daily and recap what we have read and studied that day.  I just think it is hysterical that they both picked the Psalms to start in, but my Jonah study is talking about the same things.  lol

Jonah’s difficulties were of his own doing.  Today’s passage went over Jonah’s prayer again – Jonah 1:15 – 2:10.  Priscilla says, “God allows reproof and correction as a sign of His love for us and His intention to use us.  Divine discipline, reproof, and correction indicate that we have a relationship with Him.  Make no mistake about it, His discipline has a method and specific design.  His goal is to revive so that He can realign.  Jonah’s heart needed a realignment.”

One thing that I am having a little big of difficulty with in this study of Jonah is that his discipline and circumstances were are result of his disobedience, and the study is written from that viewpoint.  Like Stacy said, that is sometimes the case, but it isn’t always.  I am just coming off of a period of one of the most difficult circumstances in my life, and it wasn’t due to disobedience, but to obedience.  I think that one is even harder for me to swallow.  I’ve been disciplined by God before for disobedience.  That I get.  But I went to my Nineveh (even though I didn’t know that was what it was going to be), and then I got the whammy.  lol  I knew I was supposed to be there, so I couldn’t understand why I was experiencing the things I was experiencing.  Today’s lesson also referenced Psalm 119:71, 75:

“It is good for me that I was afflicted, that I may learn Your statutes. …I know, O LORD, that Your judgments are righteous, and that in faithfulness You have afflicted me.”

Through my affliction, God was pulling me to Him.  I have never studied harder or prayed more in my entire life that I did during those 18 months.  God taught me so many things – but mainly to be more patient and compassionate, and to let Him take care of it.  I just need to do whatever, wherever, whenever, to His glory, and no one else’s.  No matter how awful the circumstances or how much it isn’t what I had imagined it would be.  If He wants me somewhere else, He will open the doors for me to be there.  And if He doesn’t, then I need to be content where I am, because that must be where He wants me for now.

One thought on “Daily Devo – August 28, 2010

  1. Pingback: Daily Devo – September 7, 2010 « Pilgrim Wanderings

Leave a Reply

