Daily Devo – August 30, 2010

Standard

So, I sat down to start my Jonah homework, and today’s title was “Coming Clean.”  I haven’t made it past the first verse yet, but it really hit home.

“But I will sacrifice to You with the voice of thanksgiving.  That which I have vowed I will pay.  Salvation is from the LORD.” – Jonah 2:9

Jonah is still in the belly of the fish when he is praying this.  He had nothing to sacrifice to God except his stubbornness and pride.  All too often I buy into the lie that the Christian life should be smooth sailing with lots of sunshine and rainbows.  But God doesn’t save us so we can have everything we want, He saves us so we can belong to Him and do what He wants.  My life isn’t mine anymore.  God may call me to sacrifice things I want out of life to follow where He is leading.  And, like Jonah, I need to still be thankful during the times when I feel I am sacrificing something I want.

Can I really say “that which I have vowed I will pay”?  I vowed to follow Him.  But what if He is taking me down a path I don’t want to go?  Christians always say “I gave my life to Christ,” but do we really mean it when push comes to shove?  I want to mean it.  I want to trust that He knows better for me than I do.  And if there is something I want that I’m not getting, I know it’s because there is a good reason for it.

Leave a Reply

