Daily Devo – September 1, 2010

Standard

Today’s lesson from Jonah was called “Desperate Measures.”  It is a lesson on the three major themes of prayer:  the pattern, the passion, and the posture.  It focused on how the hard times we go through force us to draw closer to God.  Priscilla stated, “Jonah’s story teaches us that the desperate circumstances we find ourselves in while navigating a life interrupted require desperate measures, not the least of which is a revamping of our prayer lives from meaningless words to carefully calculated dialogue.”  I have definitely found this to be true in my own life.  She goes on to talk about how Jonah’s prayer in chapter 2 wasn’t just something he made up.  He was praying Psalms to God – repeating His Word out loud to Him.  Nothing is more effective.

Another thing that she said that really stood out to me was that Jonah was in a desperate situation, but his prayer wasn’t a prayer for deliverance.  It was a prayer OF deliverance.  He was already thanking God for his preservation and protection, even though he was stuck inside of a fish.  He was promising to praise God and be thankful even though he didn’t yet know how his circumstances would work out.

Some other verses she had us focus on were 1 Thessalonians 5:18 and Habakkuk 3:17-18.

“In everything give thanks; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.” – 1 Thessalonians 5:18

17 Though the fig tree does not bud
and there is no fruit on the vines,
though the olive crop fails
and the fields produce no food,
though there are no sheep in the pen
and no cattle in the stalls,

18 yet I will triumph in the LORD;
I will rejoice in the God of my salvation!

I pray that I am able to truly be thankful for everything God has done for me, even when my circumstances aren’t exactly what I was hoping for.  I have much more to be grateful for than not.

Leave a Reply

