Daily Devo – September 2, 2010

Standard

Today’s Jonah verse was 3:1-2.

“Now the word of the LORD came to Jonah the second time, saying, arise, go to Nineveh.”

Our lesson last night talked about how awesome this verse is.  It doesn’t seem like much at first, but it has incredible significance.  Even after he turned his back and ran from God, God didn’t write Jonah off.  Jonah repented and prayed to God for forgiveness.  And God didn’t hold a grudge.  He didn’t give him the cold shoulder.  He spoke to Jonah.  Again.  He was merciful and extended grace and fellowship to Jonah a second time.  And He will do the same time and time again for us.  I pray that I will remember the grace and mercy of God toward me when I am tempted to be unforgiving to those who have hurt me.

But, He also didn’t change His message to Jonah.  He told him to do the EXACT SAME THING He had told him to do in the first place.  Go to Nineveh.  How much easier would it have been if Jonah had just been obedient to start with?  I pray that I am able to hear God when He speaks to me, and that I will do what He asks of me the first time.

Leave a Reply

