40/40 Prayer Vigil: Days 1 and 2

Standard

Since my Jonah study is winding down (tomorrow is last class), I have decided that I am going to do the 40/40 Prayer Vigil that my church is promoting, and which started yesterday.  But 40 Days for Life also starts tomorrow, which I was also planning on doing before I found out about this other one, so I am going to get all proactive and try to do both.  How crazy is it that they are running at the same time?

Since I didn’t do day 1 yesterday, I’ll include both today.  The link above will get you to a page to print out the daily devos, if you want to participate.  Here are the parts of the reading that stood out the most to me:

Day 1 – Thirst for God:  God, You are my God; I eagerly seek You.  I thirst for You; my body faints for You in a land that is dry, desolate, and without water. (Ps. 63:1)

Talk about conviction.  I can’t honestly say that I always eagerly seek Him.  In fact, the last few months, it has been a chore.  Something I’ve had to force myself to do.  I want that type of devotion to Him.  Yet so many times, I’m just too tired. Or too busy.

Day 2 – Longing for His Word:  Turn my eyes from looking at what is worthless; give me life in Your ways. (Ps. 119:37)

Honestly, something I have been wrestling with lately – something that has been taking huge chunks of my time – is Facebook.  My husband and I play some of the games on it, and for a while this summer they seemed to just absorb everything.  What a colossal waste of time!  I’ve made a conscious effort lately to spend less time doing that in the evenings.  But I am more and more leaning toward just stopping altogether.  That would give me more time with my family and with God.

I pray that He will give me a deeper longing to walk with Him and help me to put my relationship with Him before anything else.  I pray that I would thirst for His Word, and that He would reveal Himself to me as I read it, just like He has promised us He would.

Leave a Reply

