40/40 Day 3; 40 Days for Life Day 1

Standard

I just read both my devos and had to laugh.

First scripture for reflection in 40/40:  God, create a clean heart for me and renew a steadfast spirit within me. (Psalm 51:10)

First scripture under “Reflection” section of 40 Days devo:  A clean heart create for me, O God, and a steadfast spirit renew within me. (Psalm 51:10)

God really does have a sense of humor, and a way of saying, “Can you hear me now?”

Back to 40/40:  The entire first scripture reference is Psalm 51:10-12.  The verse that stood out to me the most in this passage was verse 11.

Do not banish me from Your presence or take Your Holy Spirit from me.

We recently talked about this in my Jonah class.  In the OT, God’s Spirit descended and ascended based on whether or not the people were obedient to Him.  David was really in danger of losing the presence of God in his life.  God could choose to remove Himself from the people, and they could feel it when He did so.  We don’t have to worry about that.  We, as believers in Christ, will NEVER be banished from His presence, and will always have His Spirit with us.  I think that sometimes, we take that for granted.  I know I do.  I was saved as a child, and that means that ever since that day I have had the Spirit of God within me.  But I can’t always feel It.  I know It’s there, but that’s because I have read that It is.  I’ve never though about it before, but I think that maybe the reason the people in the OT and NT longed for His Spirit so much is because they KNEW what it was like to NOT have It, so they didn’t take His Presence for granted.  I don’t know what it’s like to not have It, so I don’t appreciate it as much.

The other verse that stuck out to me was verse 10 in Philippians 1:9-11.

And I pray this:  that your love will keep on growing in knowledge and every kind of discernment, so that you can determine what really matters and can be pure and blameless in the day of Christ, filled with the fruit of righteousness that comes through Jesus Christ, to the glory and praise of God.

I pray that He will help me to focus on what really matters, and not on circumstances I may be experiencing in the moment.

Leave a Reply

