One Foot at a Time

Standard

I don’t really know where this road is going

I don’t really know why this door is open

Put one foot in front of the other

That’s how I’m gonna discover

Who You really are when the world is ending

How You raise the dead to new beginnings

One foot in front of the other

That’s how I’m gonna discover . . .

This Building 429 song has become my theme song over the past few weeks.  Funny how someone you’ve never met can write a song that EXACTLY expresses what you are experiencing.  Even though I don’t know where this road is going or why this door is open, I DO know that God has promised me that in all things – ALL THINGS – He works for the good of those who love Him and who have been called according to His purpose (Romans 8:28).  As hard as it may be for me to comprehend, He can and will work horrible circumstances for good IF I will cooperate with Him and see myself as one called according to His purpose.  Only He can lead me to victory.  If I keep following Him, I will get there.

His faithful love surrounds those who trust in Him (Psalm 32:10).  He offers to rescue those who love Him and protect those who acknowledge His name.  When I call upon Him, He will answer me; He will be with me in trouble, He will deliver me and honor me.  He will satisfy me with long life and show me His salvation (Psalm 91:14-16).  He is the one who comforts me (Isaiah 51:12).

The Lord my God is with me.  He is mighty to save.  He will take great delight in me, He will quiet me with His love, He will rejoice over me with singing! (Zephaniah 3:17).  He loves me with an everlasting love; He has drawn me to Him with lovingkindness.  He will build me up again and I WILL be rebuilt.  I will take up my tambourine and go out to dance with the joyful! (Jeremiah 31:34).

Though I have experienced rejection on several fronts, I will not allow rejection to become a stronghold.  I will not become imprisoned by my emotions.  God has promised to never leave me or forsake me.  He will never cast me away.  I am defined by the love and acceptance of the Creator and Sustainer of the universe.  He thinks I am worthy.  He alone defines my identity.

He is jealous for me.

One thought on “One Foot at a Time

  1. Pingback: Recovering from Rejection – Devotions | Proverbs 31 Ministries « Pilgrim Wanderings

Leave a Reply

