Wonders in the Darkness

Standard

May 20 – Praying God’s Word devotional by Beth Moore

Our heartbreaks really aren’t anyone else’s responsibility, they are Christ’s. Remember, He came to bind up the brokenhearted.

Father, I am struggling. I feel that You have taken my companions and loved ones from me; the darkness is my closest friend. Lord, show me wonders in this place of darkness and reveal to me Your righteousness in this land of oblivion. Let them draw me to Your light (Ps. 88:12, 18). Please come and rescue me. Be my closest companion and my dearest love.

Today’s prayer comes from Psalm 88. It was written by the sons of Korah. And, man, were they EVER depressed. I love how God includes the messy stuff. People who think God is a “Santa Claus” in the sky have obviously never read the Bible. Christians who act like they have it all together are liars.

Life is hard.

People you love and trust turn their backs on you. People make selfish decisions that hurt you. To quote a dear, wise  friend, “Life sucks. And then you die. . . But then you’ll be in heaven, so it will all be okay.” 

It’s comforting to know that God understands that life stinks. Jesus even experienced betrayal and rejection by those closest to Him. He knows what it feels like.  His friend’s betrayal led to His death, “and darkness came over the whole land.” (Luke 23:44)

BUT DARKNESS DIDN’T OVERCOME.

Jesus did wonders in the darkness. He overcame by His power, then He offered that power to us.

I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me. (Philippians 4:13)

Even overcome the darkness.

Because I am resting in Him.

And in Him there is no darkness at all.

Leave a Reply

