Morning Devotional Thoughts – June 5, 2012

Standard

Beth Moore: Praying God’s Word Day by Day

Rebellion can begin with fun and games, but eventually it leads to hard work.  God allows it to become a heavy burden.

From the ends of the earth I call to You, O Lord.  I call as my heart grows faint; lead me to the rock that is higher than I.  For You have been my refuge, a strong tower against the foe (Psalm 40:11-13).

Streams in the Desert:

Ask the LORD your God for a sign, whether in the deepest depths or in the highest heights. (Isaiah 7:11)

We do not control God’s Spirit, but we can place ourselves before the Lord out of obedience to what He has called us to do, and we will come under the influence and power of His mighty breath.

Uplifting Psalms Daily:

For God alone my soul waits in silence; from Him comes my salvation.  He only is my Rock and my Salvation, my Fortress; I shall not be greatly shaken. (Psalm 62:1-2 ESV)

Anger and Blame:

“Resentment kills a fool” (Job 5:2).

The problem with blame is what it leads to. Blame and anger work together to produce resentment. When you fuel your anger with accusations and the self-justified shifting of responsibility, you will begin to burn with resentment. From resentment comes bitterness. Bitterness is a steady disease that eats you from the inside out, but seldom affects the object of your bitterness.

Proverbs 31 Daily Devo: A Pursuit of Happiness

“You make known to me the path of life; you will fill me with joy in your presence, with eternal pleasures at your right hand.” Psalm 16:11 (NIV)

It is wrong when we insert short-term pleasures to find happiness, instead of seeking long-term joy in God.

The difference is happiness is fleeting, but joy is eternal. It’s joy that sticks with us through stressful days, because joy is found in our always-present Lord. The psalmist says in our key verse, “You will fill me with joy in your presence, with eternal pleasures at your right hand.” (Psalm 16:11b) Instead of looking for a short-lived high in things, I’m challenged to find lasting joy in God.

I want to show God that I can pursue Him, rather than seeking satisfaction in a temporary thrill.  I will honor my renewed relationship with joy in the Lord.  I know that the only road that leads to joy and fulfillment is in Him.

Psalm 43:4-5, “Then I will go to the altar of God, to God, my joy and my delight. I will praise you with the lyre, O God, my God. Why, my soul, are you downcast? Why so disturbed within me? Put your hope in God, for I will yet praise him, my Savior and my God.” (NIV)

Leave a Reply

