Morning Devotional Thoughts – June 6, 2012

Standard

Saying Goodbye to Your Losses

You may not want to say good-bye, but this is necessary at some point in your recovery process. Saying good-bye does not mean you are closing yourself off from the other person (or people – though that may be necessary for a period time to let the healing process begin and recovery to occur – my thoughts). You are saying good-bye to what you have lost, to the things of the past, and to relationship(s) that (are) over. You are experiencing closure to the grief, blame, anger, and emotions that are behind you. A new way of living is before you. . . .

“Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; the old has gone, the new has come!” (2 Corinthians 5:17).

Streams in the Desert:

Watch and pray so that you will not fall into temptation. (Matthew 26:41)

Never go out into the danger of the world without praying first.  . . .  Jesus, the omnipotent Son of God, felt it necessary to rise each morning before dawn and pour out His heart to His Father in prayer.

Beth Moore, Praying God’s Word:

Father God, I ask You to lead me when I’m blinded by ways I have not known, along unfamiliar paths please guide me; Lord, turn the darkness into light before me and make the rough places smooth.  I pray these are the things You will do; I know You will not forsake me. (Isaiah 42:16)

Even if my father and mother forsake me, You, Lord, will receive me. (Psalm 27:10)

Lord God, I desire to claim the words Moses delivered to Your ancient people:  Help me not to be afraid.  Enable me to stand firm so I will see the deliverance that You, the Lord, will bring me today.  You, Lord, will fight for me; help me only to be still. (Exodus 14:13-14)

Hope, Help and Healing:

[God sent His Son Jesus] to comfort all who mourn, and provide for those who grieve in Zion – to bestow on them a crown of beauty instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, and a garment of praise instead of a spirit of despair.  They will be called oaks of righteousness, a planting of the LORD for the display of His splendor.  (Isaiah 61:2-3).

Proverbs 31 Daily Devo: God is Working on Your Behalf

“Since ancient times no one has heard, no ear has perceived, no eye has seen any God besides you, who acts on behalf of those who wait for him.” Isaiah 64:4 (NIV)

Though unseen, God is divinely intervening. If you are walking in what feels like a desperate and destitute place, might I encourage you? Look to the Lord instead of your circumstances today. He’s working on your behalf.

“When God seems furthest, He may be laying the foundation of showing His greatest faithfulness.” David Platt

One thought on “Morning Devotional Thoughts – June 6, 2012

  1. Pingback: Fear Not « Pilgrim Wanderings

Leave a Reply

