Morning Devotional Thoughts – June 10, 2012

Standard

To transform is to pass over into a new way of being

Praying God’s Word Day-by-Day – Beth Moore

When we offer a trusting heart and an honest, open mind to God, renewal is on its way.


Jesus Calling – Sarah Valley: June 10, 2012 (Entire Entry)

Rest in Me, My child.  Give your mind a break from planning and trying to anticipate what will happen.  Pray continually, asking My Spirit to take charge of the details of this day.  Remember that you are on a journey with Me.  When you try to peer into the future and plan for every possibility, you ignore your constant Companion who sustains you moment by moment.  As you gaze anxiously into the distance, you don’t even feel the strong grip of My hand holding yours.  How foolish you are, My child!

Remembrance of Me is a daily discipline.  Never lose sign of My Presence with you.  This will keep you resting in Me all day, every day. (1 Thessalonians 5:17; Psalm 62:5)

I just had to post this entire entry today.  I am constantly being amazed at how everything I seem to read these days speaks to my specific circumstances.  There is a lot of uncertainty in my life right now, and I have no idea what the future is going to hold, but this entry today was a much needed reminder that it is not my place to worry about it.  God knows what’s going to happen.  It will come as no surprise to Him.  I am God’s child, and He’s got my future planned for me so that I don’t have to worry about it.  As long as I am following right after Him and seeking to love Him more and do His will, I will be okay because . . .

Streams in the Desert – L.B. Cowman

We know that in all things God works for the good of those who love Him, who have been called according to His purpose. – Romans 8:28

All things.

All things.

ALL things.

ALL. THINGS.

What a tremendous claim Paul makes in this verse! He does not say, “We know that in some things,” “most things,” or even “joyful things,” but “ALL things.”  This promise spans from the very smallest detail of life to the most important, and from the most humbling of daily tasks to God’s greatest works of grace performed during a crisis.

AMEN.

Paul states this in the present tense: “God works. He does not say, “worked” or “will work.”  It is a continuing operation.

We can learn a lesson of faith from this:  “You do not realize now what I am doing, but later you will understand” (John 13:7). – J. R. Macduff

“In a thousand trials, it is not just five hundred of them that work ‘for the good’ of the believer, but nine hundred and ninety-nine, plus one.” – George Mueller

Leave a Reply

