Coffee with God – June 14, 2012

Standard

Praying God’s Word Day-by-Day – Beth Moore

O Lord, do not forsake me; be not far from me, O Lord my God. Come quickly to help me, O Lord my Savior (Ps. 38:4, 6, 8-10, 18, 21-22). Father, You never reject the truly repentant. Thank You, Lord.


Jesus Calling – Sarah Young

I have loved you with an everlasting Love. Before time began, I knew you. For years you swam around in a sea of meaninglessness, searching for Love, hoping for hope. All that time I was pursuing you, aching to embrace you in My compassionate arms. . . . I sang you a Love song, whose beginning and end are veiled in eternity. I infused meaning into your life and harmony into your heart. Join Me in singing My song.

One Day at a Time – Day 43: Ask the Holy Spirit’s Help

You can never see the big picture in any given situation. Only God sees your circumstances from all perspectives and contexts.  As a result you often pray for the wrong things. You tend to pray for what seems best to you.

One unique aspect of the Christian walk is that God has given you His Holy Spirit to help you make right decisions and to guide your prayers. The Bible says that “the Spirit helps us in our weakness. We do not know what we ought to pray for, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us with groans that words cannot express” (Romans 8:26).

I know that my relationship with Christ has grown stronger over the last five years (and exponentially during the last five weeks) because now I am able to stand firm and give all my circumstances – relationships, finances, emotional baggage – over to the Lord. I’m not responsible for the attitudes and actions of other people. I can’t be other people’s conscience for them. And I certainly can’t be their Holy Spirit. I am not responsible for the spiritual growth – or spiritual stagnation – of anyone other than myself and, to an extent, my child. As a “fixer” and a person who values loyalty and wants to help and support those I care about, that has been very hard not to do, even when those feelings have not been reciprocated. I still feel the urge to fix and help people, but that isn’t – and never has been – MY job.

I have asked God to show me the true cause of circumstances I am facing, and He has through His Word and Holy Spirit. I have asked and sought, and He has guided me in prayer and in truth. My circumstances have not changed, but my outlook and responses have.

I am not responsible for the disobedience of others, nor am I to blame for their sin.

God wants me to bring all – ALL – my burdens and cares to Him so that He can give me rest. (Matthew 11:27-28) And it’s so easy to want to hold onto them with clenched fists or pick them back up again.  Letting go is HARD because often our identities are wrapped up in our burdens and it means leaving a part of yourself behind.  But it’s a part of yourself that you don’t need.

Sometimes it means watching people you care about turn away because they aren’t willing to unclench their own fists and follow after God with you. When that happens, the first inclination is usually to try and grab your baggage back up and run after them.

Been there.

Done that.

The result is that the cycle repeats itself over and over until you really, truly lay your baggage down for good and determine NEVER to pick it up again.

I’ve learned that I can’t pursue God and also pursue people, especially if they are going in the opposite direction from God.  It’s the One or the other.  “No one who puts his hand to the plow and looks back is fit for the kingdom of God.”

If God doesn’t want me to carry around the baggage of my past (and He doesn’t), then He sure doesn’t want me to try and carry other people’s baggage around for them, either.

I can’t give their burdens to God for them.

They have to unclench their own fists.  

God has given each of us free will.  If He won’t pry their hands open for them and make them follow Him, then I can’t do that, either.  I am only responsible for my obedience. And God will bless me as I walk in obedience to Him, regardless of the disobedience of others.

GOD IS FOR ME.

And He is for YOU.

What do YOU really need to pray about?  What do you really need to LET GO of and give completely to God?

One thought on “Coffee with God – June 14, 2012

  1. Pingback: YOU ARE BLESSED HIGHLY FAVORED AND VALUED « Vine and Branch World Ministries

Leave a Reply

