Rearranging the Landscape

Standard

In my reading and study lately, I have been constantly bombarded with the themes of rebuilding, renewal, and restoration.  God is reminding me that He will never stop working on me while I am still on this earth.

There is always a plan.  There is always a purpose.

Nothing ever takes Him by surprise.

EVER.

And though the circumstances in my life right now are not what I had envisioned, and I am unsure what the future will hold, I know one thing.

He loves me.

He is for me.

He has plans to prosper me and NOT to harm me.

He’s got this.


Reblogged from:  Devotions | Proverbs 31 Ministries.

“I will lead the blind by ways they have not known, along unfamiliar paths… I will turn the darkness into light before them and make the rough places smooth. These are the things I will do; I will not forsake them.” Isaiah 42:16 (NIV)

My plans continue to zigzag through various unplanned circumstances. And I realize God allows me to experience these orange and white-barreled roads to illustrate a truth. He is at work up ahead rearranging the landscape of my life.

Construction-1

Construction-1 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I may not be able to see what the new landscape will look like, but I believe He will guide me, make the road smooth, and be with me. With His help, I put my hand in His, traveling the paths He lays out for me, even though they may not be the familiar roads I’d prefer.

Dear Lord, You know how difficult life is right now. My interrupted life and the rough roads feel like they’ll break me. Give me the capacity to trust You and graciously travel the paths You lay out before me. In Jesus’ Name, Amen.

Streams in the Desert – L. B. Cowman

Oh, if only we would always catch the vision of the abundant harvest when the great Master Farmer comes, as He often does, to plow through our very souls – uprooting and turning under that which we thought most beautiful and leaving only the bare and the unlovely before our agonizing eyes. (- selected)

Why should I be frightened and surprised by the plow of the Lord, which makes deep furrows in my soul?  I know He is not some arbitrary or irrational farmer – His purpose is to yield a harvest. (- Samuel Rutherford)

Has God been making deep furrows in your soul lately?  

3 thoughts on “Rearranging the Landscape

  1. Pingback: This Week’s Little Things « Pilgrim Wanderings

  2. Pingback: Thoughts on Thankfulness « Pilgrim Wanderings

  3. Pingback: 31 Thoughts from Streams in the Desert – July in Review « Pilgrim Wanderings

Leave a Reply

