In the Furnace of Affliction

Standard

Streams in the Desert – L. B. Cowman

I have chosen thee in the furnace of affliction. (Isaiah 48:10)

Whatever occurs in the valley of tears, I know He has chosen me.

Dear Christian, do not be afraid, for Jesus is with you. Through all your fiery trials, His presence is both your comfort and safety. He will never forsake those He has chosen for His own.

‘Do not be afraid, for I am with you’ (Gen. 26:24) is His unfailing word of promise to His chosen ones who are experiencing ‘the furnace of affliction.’

– Charles H. Spurgeon


Praying God’s Word Day-by-Day – Beth Moore

You will not take Your love from me. You will never betray Your own faithfulness. You will not violate Your covenant or alter what Your lips have uttered (Ps. 89:33-34).

Jesus Calling – Sarah Young

Stop worrying long enough to hear My voice. I speak softly to you, in the depths of your being. . . . Ask My Spirit to quiet your mind so that you can think My thoughts. . . . Do not be deafened by the noise of the world or that of your own thinking. Instead, be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Sit quietly in My Presence, letting My thoughts reprogram your thinking.

2 thoughts on “In the Furnace of Affliction

  1. Pingback: 31 Thoughts from Streams in the Desert – July in Review « Pilgrim Wanderings

  2. Pingback: Coffee with God – Songs in the Night – August 9 « Pilgrim Wanderings

Leave a Reply

