The Path Selected for Me

Standard

Another day, another opportunity to marvel at God’s Divine providence. He knows all the details of what I am facing. He is not surprised. He knew this was coming from the dawn of creation. And He, once again, puts two devotionals in front of me that cut straight to the heart of the matter and speak directly to me.

It is also no coincidence that my Wednesday night class session this past week was on forgiveness – something I am struggling mightily with right now – and the homework section for class focused on the passage in Romans Beth quotes below.

God is not mocked. Vengeance is His. HE will repay. What a relief and load off of me.

Praying God’s Word Day-By-Day – Beth Moore – July 14

I would never imply that
getting over rejection is easy,
but it is God’s unquestionable
will for your life.

Lord, help me to obey You and not repay anyone evil for evil. Help me to be careful to do what is right in the eyes of everybody. If it is possible, as far as it depends on me, I want to live at peace with everyone.

Help me not to take revenge but leave room for Your wrath, for You have written: “It is mine to avenge; I will repay.”. On the contrary: if my enemy is hungry, help me to feed him; if he is thirsty, help me to give him something to drink. In doing this, I will heap burning coals on his head (Rom. 12:17-20.

O Father, please cause the love of Christ to compel me to do what is right in this challenging situation (2Cor. 5:14).

Jesus Calling – Sarah Young – July 14

Keep walking with Me along the path I have chosen for you. Your desire to live close to Me is a delight to My heart (He sent someone to tell me that this week, but that is a MUCH longer story for a separate blog post). I could instantly grant you the spiritual riches you desire, but that is not My way for you. Together we will forge a pathway up the high mountain. The journey is arduous at times, and you are weak. Someday you will dance lightfooted on the high peaks; but for now, your walk is often plodding and heavy. All I require of you is to take the next step, clinging to My hand for strength and direction. Though the path is difficult and the scenery dull at the moment, there are sparkling surprises just around the bend. Stay on the path I have selected for you. It is truly the path of Life. (Psalm 37:23-24; Psalm 16:11)

Leave a Reply

