Thoughts on Thankfulness

Standard

Today I am linking up with Heavenly Homemakers for Gratituesday.

Both of the devos I read this morning dealt with being thankful in the midst of trials.   I have been intentional about cultivating an attitude of thankfulness in spite of my circumstances over the past few months.  I can say with 100% certainty that maintaining a grateful heart and thankful thoughts have helped me tremendously over the past few months.

Wanted to just share some of what I read in my devos this morning:

Streams in the Desert – L. B. Cowman – June 23

Sing  . . . to the Lord, always giving thanks to God the Father for everything. (Ephesians 5:19-20)

No matter the source of the evil confronting you, if you are in God and thereby completely surrounded by Him, you must realize that it has first passed through Him before coming to you.  Because of this, you can thank Him for everything that comes your way.  This does not mean thanking Him for the sin that accompanies evil, but offering thanks for what He will bring out of it and through it.  May God make our life one of continual thanksgiving and praise, so He will then make everything a blessing.

I once saw a man draw some black dots on a piece of paper.  Several of us looked at it yet saw nothing but an irregular arrangement of dots.  Then he also drew a few lines, put in a few rests, and added a treble clef at the beginning.  Suddenly we realized that the dots were musical notes, and as we began to sound them out, we were singing,

Doxology

Each of us has many black dots or spots in our life, and we cannot understand why they are there or why God permitted them.  But when we allow Him into our life to adjust the dots in the proper way, to draw the lines He desires, and to put rests at the proper places to separate us from certain things, then from the black dots and spots He will compose a glorious harmony.

So let us not hinder Him in His glorious work! – Charles H. Parkhurst

Many people owe the grandeur of their lives to their tremendous difficulties. – Charles H. Spurgeon

Jesus Calling – Sarah Young – July 24

Thankfulness opens the door to My Presence. . . . I have placed a door between you and Me, and I have empowered you to open or close that door.  There are many ways to open it, but a grateful attitude is one of the most effective.

Listen! I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears My voice and opens the door, I will come in to him and have dinner with him, and he with Me.  (Revelation 3:20)

Thankfulness is built on a substructure of trust.  When thankful words stick in your throat, you need to check up on your foundation of trust.  When thankfulness flows freely from your heart and lips, let your gratitude draw you closer to Me.  I want you to learn the art of giving thanks in all circumstances.

Click the button below to read more Gratituesday posts.

3 thoughts on “Thoughts on Thankfulness

  1. It’s funny, a few years ago I had the bright idea that that year as a kind of New Year’s resolution I’d ask God to teach me to be more thankful and would begin to practice intentional thankfulness. The year started out great and then, a few weeks into incorporating thankfulness into my daily prayers and general life, things started to get really bad. And pretty much continued to get worse and worse from there on out. It took me awhile to figure it out but eventually I realized that I was being taught the lesson for which I’d asked. I was able to see some humor in the fact that I hadn’t realized from the start that thankfulness isn’t much of a challenge when there’s nothing going wrong. That year, though difficult, was very good and helped to build a strong foundation for later on when I really needed it – practicing intentional thankfulness is still a daily challenge but an awesome spiritual tool, when I remember to use it, to deal with difficult days and situations. Really enjoy your blog by the way.

  2. Pingback: 31 Thoughts from Streams in the Desert – July in Review « Pilgrim Wanderings

Leave a Reply

