Finding God in the Darkness

Standard

In May, my church announced that they would begin offering the class Trusting God in Times of Adversity, Kay Arthur’s inductive study of Job, on Tuesday nights beginning June 12. I knew immediately that I definitely needed to be in that class. Me and Job? We have a lot in common. I can so completely relate to how he felt. Unfortunately I was only able to attend 3 classes before I had to change my schedule due to changes in personal circumstances.

Getting thrown for a loop will not only knock the breath out of you, it will also make you completely unable to focus on anything other than desperate prayers.

Now that the initial shock has worn off, though, I have begun to refocus on issues at hand and work toward appropriate responses to my circumstances. I can also clearly see attitudes and areas in my life that need I to work through and allow God to heal and transform. I am working through anger, unforgiveness, bitterness and resentment, and am coming to terms with the fact that I may never know the “why” of these circumstances in this life.

I knew I needed to continue this Job study, even if it was on my own instead of in a class. Honestly, though, I can’t even remember what I had studied up to now. So I’m starting it over from scratch with fresh eyes. And I am taking it at my own pace, adjusted as needed to focus on the other issues mentioned above as the mental and emotional state of the day require.

Introduction:  Key Ideas and Themes

The book of Job can help us face life’s greatest pains and losses, and help answer questions such as:

  1. Has God abandoned me?
  2. Is God punishing me for sin?
  3. Is He being fair, just, and righteous – or just cruel, toying with me for His own pleasure?
  4. Did God really love Job?  Does He really love me?
  5. How could He allow such terrible circumstances as these?

Yeah, this is most definitely a study I need to be doing right now.

As we will see, Job’s friends and his wife attached the blame to him.  They could not fault God, nor could they see Job’s unwavering devotion, steadfast faith, and complete commitment.

Job, however, saw a sovereign God behind the scenes.  He believe and trusted Him in spite of what happened to him.

He was alone in his faith because his family and friends equated God’s love and favor with physical prosperity.  But God’s love and favor does not mean we will always have smooth sailing and trouble-free lives.

Satan wants to blind us so we can’t find God in the impossible experiences of life.

The book of Job teaches us to rise above excruciating trials by bowing before the Living God.

To rise above trials I must bow before God.

If I can keep faith after I’ve lost everything else, God will ultimately bless me in ways that will bring praise to my lips and glory to Him.

6 thoughts on “Finding God in the Darkness

  1. The book of Job knocked me flat on my keister when I originally read it. At first it made me very angry but then after I wrestled with it for a while, I saw the beauty in it. Did you know that the book of Job speaks of things like DNA, springs at the bottom of the ocean, wind patterns etc?…things we are just now really starting to learn about thousands of years after it was written.

    If you really pay attention and absorb the book of Job you see just how many things God has told us about that we never really paid attention too.

    It also offers so many life lessons. The book of Job helped me in my struggle with my brother’s suicide this past December.

    • I know exactly what you mean. I just finished doing week one of the study again, which is basically 7 days of reading chapter one and focusing on different aspects. There is so much in that one chapter. The book as a whole really makes you decide whether or not you are going to follow God because He is a sovereign, holy, just, good God, or because He is good to YOU.

  2. Pingback: Job Chapter One: Holding Fast Your Integrity « Pilgrim Wanderings

  3. Pingback: “Hands-On Faith Project” | MAJESTIC PUBLISHING & WRITING MINISTRY

  4. Pingback: Job Chapter Two: Should We Accept Only Good from God and Not Adversity? « Pilgrim Wanderings

  5. Pingback: Job Chapter Two: With Friends Like These . . . « Pilgrim Wanderings

Leave a Reply

