Coffee with God – Sacred Joy and Cheerful Expectations – August 11

Standard

Sometimes God whispers gently to us.

Other times He hits us over the head with an anvil.

I had an anvil moment this morning.

So yesterday, I wrote a post that had been on my heart for several days.  Some of the things I had actually be realizing for several months.  And I truly believe the things I said.  I truly believe that God wants what is best for me and wouldn’t have allowed this if it wasn’t VITAL to me fulfilling my purpose for Him.

But I felt guilty after writing it.

I felt guilty for the healing I have experienced over the past few months.  The healing He has given me.  I felt guilty that I wasn’t still sobbing on my bathroom floor every night.

I felt guilty that I could see the

And there it comes again.  I was just typing along, and I got to the above sentence, and stopped before typing the next word.  Why?  Because people going through what I am going through are not supposed to see the good that has come from it.

We are supposed to stay devastated.  Woe is me and all that crap.

LISTEN TO WHAT I AM ABOUT TO SAY:

Going THROUGH periods of devastation will prepare us for God’s purpose.  

STAYING in a state of devastation will bring no honor to God.

So anyway, I got up this morning, still feeling guilty.  As if the healing God is bringing is somehow sinful.  As if that could ever be the case.

And He hit me with these anvils in my morning devotions.

(- Emphasis mine.)

Praying God’s Word Day-By-Day – August 11 – Beth Moore

Lord, I pray that one day I will begin to consider my precious losses gains for the sake of Christ as You use my suffering, my life, and my testimony.  Whatever was to my profit I now consider loss for the sake of Christ.

What is more, I consider everything a loss compared to the surpassing greatness of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord, for whose sake I have lost all things.

I want to gain You, Christ, and be found in You, not having a righteousness of my own that comes from the law, but that which is through faith in You – the righteousness that comes from God and is by faith (Phil. 3:7-9).

Streams in the Desert – August 11 – L. B. Cowman

Though the fig tree does not bud and there are no grapes on the vines, though the olive crop fails and the fields produce no food, though there are no sheep in the pen and no cattle in the stalls, yet I will rejoice in the LORD, I will be joyful in God my Savior. (Habakkuk 3:17-18)

Although the above verse is very concise, it nevertheless implies or expresses the following thoughts of the writer:  that in his time of distress he would flee to God; that he would maintain his spiritual composure under the darkest of circumstances; and that in the midst of everything, he would delight himself with a sacred joy in God and have cheerful expectations of Him.

Heroic confidence!  Glorious faith!  Unconquerable love!  (Philip Doddridge)

American Robin -- Humber Bay Park (East) (Toro...

Last night I heard a robin singing in the rain,
And the raindrop’s patter made a sweet refrain,
Making all the sweeter the music of the strain.

So, I thought, when trouble comes, as trouble will,
Why should I stop singing?  Just beyond the hill 
It may be that sunshine floods the green world still.

He who faces the trouble with a heart of cheer
Makes the burden lighter.  If there falls a tear
Sweeter is the cadence in the song we hear.

I have learned your lesson, bird with spotted wing,
Listening to your music with its tune of spring – 
When the storm cloud darkens, it’s the TIME to sing.

Eben Eugene Rexford

I don’t have to feel guilty about the healing God is bringing me.  It is okay for me to acknowledge the blessings that God is giving me.  It is okay for me to be joyful and happy and content EVEN IN THE MIDST of this situation.

5 thoughts on “Coffee with God – Sacred Joy and Cheerful Expectations – August 11

  1. Thank you for your sharings from streams in the desert. It has made me pick up a copy for my devotions during this time. Hab 3:17-18 has always been a favourite verse of mine that the Lord used to encourage at my low points.

  2. Pingback: Oaks of Righteousness Need Rain to Grow – Coffee with God – August 13 « Pilgrim Wanderings

  3. Pingback: For My Benefit – Coffee with God – August 14 « Pilgrim Wanderings

  4. Pingback: My Refuge – Coffee with God – August 15 « Pilgrim Wanderings

Leave a Reply

