Five Minute Friday: Stretch

Standard

It’s #FiveMinuteFriday!

Where a beautiful crowd spends five minutes all writing on the same topic and then sharing ‘em over here. 

Are you ready?

GO

Wow.  Really?  Stretch?  That’s the word for today?

STRETCH?

Another topic that speaks directly to the very center of my heart at this time of my life.  For the past several months, I have definitely not only been feeling stretched, but am learning how to stretch in all areas of my life.

Finances?  Definitely need to stretch.

Time?  Wish I could stretch it so I’d be able to get everything done that a single, working mom needs to get done, AND be able to spend quality time with my kid.

Faith?  Definitely being stretched.

I’ve started running again after a couple of months off.  I can tell you that the day after a run, stretching hurts.  Especially when you first start doing it.  And my spiritual, mental, and emotional stretching during my present circumstances hurts.

Sometimes, it has honestly felt like I’ve been on the rack.  

Medieval torture rack

Medieval torture rack (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

But God is faithful.  And He is stretching me in ways I’ve never allowed Him to before now.

Stretching me to become more actively involved in discipling my child.

Stretching me to step out and help teach a high school girls’ Sunday School class.

Stretching me to be intentional about reaching out to other people in my situation to let them know about His faithfulness and healing.

STOP    

Wanna play? Here’s how:
1. Write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking.
2. Link back here and invite others to join in.
3. And then absolutely, no ifs, ands or buts about it, you need to visit the person who linked up before you & encourage them in their comments.

13 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Stretch

  1. Growing pains stink, don’t they? Oh but the reward… and to think, He believes we’re worth the effort.

    Wonderful 5 minute write! So thrilled to meet you today!

    All for Him with hugs to you,
    Nikki

    • Yes, they definitely are no fun. But you’re right. It’s so comforting to know that He believes I am worth the effort, especially during my current circumstances.

      Thanks so much for taking the time to comment!

  2. Oh is there was another way to grow we would all pick it…but these times of stretching are for our good… and only done by hands of love…have a blessed weekend~

  3. I am have been stretched more in the last couple of years than I ever have. Even though it makes me uncomfortable, I am thankful for the new places the stretching has taken me.

  4. Pingback: Five Minute Friday: Join « Pilgrim Wanderings

  5. Pingback: Five Minute Friday: Change « Pilgrim Wanderings

Leave a Reply

