In the Midst of the Maelstrom – Coffee with God – August 17

Standard

“Find Me in the midst of the maelstrom.”

Those are the words that began this morning’s devotional time, giving comfort even before the day even got started.

Find Me.

It’s an imperative.  A command.  A reminder that He is the one who will calm the raging seas in my life, just like He calmed the Sea of Galilee when the disciples found Him in the boat and woke Him up.

When life is beating me up, and all I can manage to do is whisper His name, it is enough.  He hears the words my heart cries, even when my brain can’t come up with them.

He. is. here.

He understands what I don’t.

He knows.

He’s got it under control.

He’s got me.


Jesus Calling – Sarah Young – August 17

Find Me in the midst of the maelstrom.  Sometimes events whirl around you so quickly that they become a blur.  Whisper My Name in recognition that I am still with you.  Without skipping a beat in the activities that occupy you, you find strength and Peace through praying My Name.  Later, when the happenings have run their course, you can talk with Me more fully.

Accept each day just as it comes to you.  Do not waste your time and energy wishing for a different set of circumstances.  Instead, trust Me enough to yield to My design and purposes.  Remember that nothing can separate you from My loving Presence; you are Mine.

Philippians 2:9-11; Isaiah 43:1

Storm at sea

Storm at sea (Photo credit: idleformat)

Leave a Reply

