Fertile Ground – Coffee with God – August 31

Standard

Edited to add:  About an hour after I had saved and scheduled this post, I came across this post in my reader feed.  Wow.  Really, God?  Wow.  Thank You.  

I started this post after my morning devos, but didn’t get to finish it before leaving the house.  What a coincidence (HA!) that today’s Five Minute Friday post was on change.  I was reading through several of the other bloggers’ posts today, and a couple of quotes just jumped out at me.

 I know the One who has charted my course, and I know the road I have chosen to take. It is narrow, and few follow it. But the One leading is good. He knows every bend.  And, I will trust Him for He never changes.

I see what He’s begun in me. How He’s putting me back together again.  Some days I wonder…maybe He’s not flipping me upside down but is turning me right-side up. Maybe He’s not changing me at all. Could it be He’s bringing me back to what I once was? The original plan He’s always had for me?

And it got me to thinking about – meditating on – what I had read this morning and how it might just be that God is bringing me back to the original plan He’s always had for me so that I can fulfill the glorious plan He tailored for me (for HIM) in advance.  

But in order to do that, I have to have – to be – the right kind of soil.  I have to not only hear His Word, but understand it as well.  I have to be a doer, and not a hearer only.  I have to allow His Word to take root in my heart, so that it changes me from the inside out, and I am not just a pretty tomb filled with a heart dead to His will.

Taj Mahal

Taj Mahal (Photo credit: ndj5)

Praying God’s Word Day-by-Day – Beth Moore (emphasis mine)

We can live our entire lives as Christians and never fulfill the glorious plan God tailored for us in advance. 

Lord, I do not want to be like those who refuse to pay attention to You.  Please help me not to turn my back in stubbornness and stop up my ears just because Your will is hard at times.  Help me not to make my heart as hard as flint and refuse to listen to the words that You, Lord Almighty, have sent by Your Spirit (Zechariah 7:11-12).

Lord God, empower me to  make every effort to live in peace with all men and to be holy; without holiness no one will see the Lord.  Help me to see to it that I don’t miss the grace of God and that no bitter root grows up to cause trouble and defile many (Hebrews 12:14-15).

The Parable of the Sower Explained – Matthew 13:18-23 (emphasis mine)

“You, then, listen to the parable of the sower:  When anyone hears the word about the kingdom and doesn’t understand it, the evil one comes and snatches away what was sown in his heart. This is the one sown along the path.

And the one sown on rocky ground – this is the one who hears the word and immediately receives it with joy. Yet he has no root in himself, but is short-lived. When pressure or persecution comes because of the word, immediately he stumbles.

Now the one sown among the thorns – this is one who hears the word, but the worries of this age and the seduction of wealth choke the word, and it becomes unfruitful.

But the one sown on the good ground – this is one who hears and understands the word, who does bear fruit and yields: some 100, some 60, some 30 times what was sown.

I know people who have blinders on when it comes to the things of God.

I know people who have a surface level faith (i.e., “religion”), but no depth – no relationship with God – and no fruit to show for it.

And I have been profoundly affected by those who have completely rebelled against God to chase after the things of the world.

I want enduring faith, and the peace that comes with it.

One thought on “Fertile Ground – Coffee with God – August 31

Leave a Reply

