Five Minute Friday: Wide

Standard

It’s #FiveMinuteFriday!

So, here’s the skinny: every Friday for over a year hundreds of people join a kind of writing flash mob over here.

We write for five minutes flat. All on the same prompt that I post here at 1 minute past midnight EST ever Friday. And we connect on Twitter with the hashtag #FiveMinuteFriday

No extreme editing; no worrying about perfect grammar, font, or punctuation.

Unscripted. Unedited. Real.

Are you ready?

GO

Wide.

Deep and wide

Deep and wide

There’s a fountain flowing deep and wide

We used to sing that song in VBS all the time when I was a kid.  I’ve been spending as much time as possible in God’s Word these past few months, just drinking His promises in.  Desperate to believe them, to trust that what He says about me and His thoughts toward me are true.

To comprehend that His love for me is so incredibly deep and so very, very wide.

To understand that He has cast my sins as far as the east is from the west. (Psalm 103:12)  (Note: That’s WIDE.)

[youtube://youtu.be/FWMebzGZGZc]

That I would be rooted and established in His love, and have power, together with all the Lord’s holy people, to grasp how wide and long and high and deep is the love of Christ, and to know this love that surpasses knowledge.  (Ephesians 3:17-19)

To let those promises and prayers still my soul and calm my fears.  My God is bigger – WIDER – than my circumstances.

Still waters run deep.  The wider the body of water, the less the whole is disturbed by something dropped in it.  That’s how I want my faith to be.  Deep and wide. 

STOP    

Wanna play? Here’s how:
1. Write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking.
2. Link back here and invite others to join in.
3. And then absolutely, no ifs, ands or buts about it, you need to visit the person who linked up before you & encourage them in their comments.

11 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Wide

  1. Sister do I love this! “Still waters run deep. The wider the body of water, the less the whole is disturbed by something dropped in it. That’s how I want my faith to be.” THIS is how I want my faith to be, too! Blessings #fmfparty sister!

  2. I started with “Deep and Wide,” too, for this prompt. Do any children, I wonder, ever get what they’re singing, as they fumble to keep their hands moving “deep” and moving “wide”? Do we, as we speak of how wide and how long and how high and how deep? We can’t, can we? But now we know that we can’t, no matter how we stretch our arms from side to side. And now we know that we need the love wider than our arms can reach — and we have it! God is good!

    • True. It’s so hard to comprehend, especially when we are surrounded by so many people that let us down, change their minds, and decide they don’t want to love us after all. I’m so glad He gave us His Word so we can constantly be reminded that His love is true love.

      Thanks for visiting!

  3. Pingback: Five Question Friday « Wanderings of a Busy Mom

  4. “Still waters run deep. The wider the body of water, the less the whole is disturbed by something dropped in it. That’s how I want my faith to be. Deep and wide. ”

    AMEN! That’s the cry of my heart today and tomorrow and forever. Lovely post, Nancy.

    Blessings

  5. Pingback: Five Question Friday: September 28th « Wanderings of a Busy Mom

Leave a Reply

