Five Minute Friday: Grasp

Standard

It’s #FiveMinuteFriday!

So, here’s the skinny: every Friday for over a year hundreds of people join a kind of writing flash mob over here.

We write for five minutes flat. All on the same prompt that I post here at 1 minute past midnight EST ever Friday. And we connect on Twitter with the hashtag #FiveMinuteFriday

No extreme editing; no worrying about perfect grammar, font, or punctuation.

Unscripted. Unedited. Real.

Are you ready?

GO

Grasp.

And I pray that you, being rooted and established in love, may have power, together with all the Lord’s holy people, to grasp how wide and long and high and deep is the love of Christ, and to know this love that surpasses knowledge—that you may be filled to the measure of all the fullness of God.

– Ephesians 3:17b-19

I’ve spent a large portion of my adult life grasping for relationships that I desperately wanted to hold onto.  Grasping for people that I thought were devoted and committed to me.  Looking for fulfillment – for fellowship – from people that I loved and trusted.  People to whom I was devoted and committed and to whom I gave all of myself.   People who had said – had promised – had VOWED – that they were devoted and committed to me.

In a six-week period late this past spring, all of that vanished.  Those relationships that I had so desperately tried to hold together – that I had tried to pretend were solid – disappeared when my husband chose to walk out the door and out of our 16-year marriage.  My entire support system consisted of his family.  And as he went, they chose to go also.  Eighteen years of relationships gone in an instant, some without even so much as one word.

There was literally nothing left for me to grasp.  The severing was swift and excruciatingly painful.  But at least I knew exactly where I stood with them.  That brought some closure.

But just as I realized that there was nothing that I could do to hold on to the ones I had loved, I felt Him grasping me.

Psalm 18:16, 19
He reached down from heaven and took hold of me; He pulled (grasped) me out of deep waters.

He brought me out to a spacious place; He rescued me because He delighted in me.

When I had nothing else to hold on to, He held on to me and wouldn’t let me fall.  He grasped me, and I clung to Him.  And I realized that He’s the only One I can grasp.  The only One who will never fail me.

When I began grasping Him – His Word, His work, His heart – He began placing people in my life with whom I could have real fellowship – no false fronts, no being something someone else wants me to be, no fake smiles, no pretending I have no problems.  Real people who really care and want to walk through life with me and encourage me.  People who I can be real with, and who will be real with me.  People who aren’t afraid to both see my mess and share their own with me so that we can encourage and edify each other.

It’s AMAZING.

Months have passed, but He’s still holding on to me and continuing to heal my busted heart.

And I will never fall out of His grasp.  

[youtube://youtu.be/HJvL9rHCpys]

STOP    

Wanna play? Here’s how:
1. Write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking.
2. Link back here and invite others to join in.
3. And then absolutely, no ifs, ands or buts about it, you need to visit the person who linked up before you & encourage them in their comments.

8 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Grasp

  1. Pingback: Five Minute Friday: Grasp | Even A Girl Like Me

  2. I’m sad to read of your broken heart, I will certainly pray for you. I’ve also tried desperately to hold people together to no avail, leaving me broken and in His grasp. So I understand and appreciate this post very much 🙂 Blessings to you.

  3. Pingback: Five Minute Friday: Welcome « Pilgrim Wanderings

Leave a Reply

