Always

Standard


Click for more Coffee with God posts

Jesus Calling – Sarah Young  (Emphasis mine.)

When you need comfort, I love to enfold you in My arms.  I enable you not only to feel comforted but also to be a channel through whom I comfort others.  Thus you are doubly blessed, because a living channel absorbs some of whatever flows through it.

My constant Companionship is the piece de resistance: the summit of salvation blessings.  No matter what losses you experience in your life, no one can take away this glorious gift.

(Psalm 34:4-6; Psalm 105:4; 2 Corinthians 1:3-4)

Praying God’s Word Day-By-Day – Beth Moore – Entire entry. (Emphasis mine.)

Before we can even begin to give God’s love away, we’ve got to fully accept it and its power for ourselves.

Lord, I have the treasure of Your Holy Spirit in me, a simple jar of clay, to show that this all-surpassing power is from God and not from me (2 Cor. 4:7).  Lord, forgiving someone who has hurt me deeply is sometimes the way the power of the Holy Spirit is made most conspicuous in me.  Forgive through me, Jesus.  I am powerless without You.  Show what You can do through my vessel.  I offer myself to You for this authentic God-work.

Not by might nor by power, but by Your Spirit, Lord Almighty (Zech. 4:6), I will be able to forgive.  Your Word assures me that it is You who works in me to will and to act according to Your good purpose (Phil. 2:13).

I am grateful today that God can take any mess that we find ourselves in – whether of our own making or someone else’s – and use it for His glory and His kingdom if we let Him.  Being willing and able to be open with what I am going through has truly brought me tremendous blessings.  I have received comfort from people I never expected who have rallied around me.  I have met people who have become dear friends that I would never have met otherwise.  People who are REAL, who really live out their faith on a daily basis and don’t just talk about it once a week.

Being able to encourage and lift up others going through similar circumstances has given me a sense of purpose and brought some meaning to the inexplicable.  It has shown me that God has a plan for me even in this, and that He will use me if I am willing.  It has brought a sense of peace regarding the path I am now on.  That peace has helped in the process of forgiveness that I am going through regarding those who have hurt me so deeply.  And it is a process.  One that I am not sure will ever be truly complete until eternity.  But I am not living daily in anger, bitterness, and resentment.  Though I still experience moments of those emotions, they are moments, and do not define my life.

As I move toward discovering and embracing God’s will for my life, whatever that may end up being, I find it easier to accept that He has allowed, and to even focus on the many blessings that have come from it.  Because there are many.  And, honestly, if I were to make a list, the blessings would outnumber the disappointments.  I can’t change the past or the choices that others have made.  I can only keep my eyes on Him – the One who has told me to leave the past behind and follow Him ONLY.

But most of all, I can truly say with 100% certainty now that I am in love with my God.

I couldn’t say that before.  Don’t get me wrong.  I’ve been a believer for a long, long time.  And I’ve always loved God.  And I did all the things I was supposed to do, or at least I tried to.  But I wasn’t in love with Him.  I was never hungry for His Word and never wanted to truly chase after His will and His heart.

I read this post – Discovering the Absence of God – this morning, and Alistair describes my walk up to now perfectly and much more eloquently that I ever could.

But I have faced my inciting incident, and my moment of profound aloneless in suffering, and I discovered something HUGE.  Something radically life changing.

I wasn’t alone at all.

Everywhere I turned, He was showing Himself to me.

Showing His faithfulness.  Showing His strength.  Showing His compassion.  Showing His care and concern.  Showing His love.

Holding me up.  Holding me together.  Holding the pieces of my broken heart in His hands.

Enfolding me in His arms.

Mending my broken heart.

Showing that He. Sees.  Me.

Through circumstances.  Through friends, new and old.  Through complete strangers.

Always faithful.  Always trustworthy.  Always providing.  Always encouraging.  Always uplifting.  Always THERE.  

ALWAYS.

And I fell in love.

I’m crazy about my Jesus.

And He’s crazy about me.

Always has been.  

Always will be.

ALWAYS.

[youtube://youtu.be/yZB-9Z_FAfs]

2 thoughts on “Always

  1. Pingback: Encourage the Heart and Spirit « A Kiss Of Bliss

  2. Pingback: #FiveMinuteFriday: Look « Pilgrim Wanderings

Leave a Reply

