Thank You – #fiveminutefriday

Standard

It’s #FiveMinuteFriday!

Write for five minutes flat. All on the same prompt that Lisa Jo posts at 1 minute past midnight EST every Friday. And we connect on Twitter with the hashtag #FiveMinuteFriday

No extreme editing; no worrying about perfect grammar, font, or punctuation.

Unscripted. Unedited. Real.

Are you ready

GO

THANK YOU . . .

The words just don’t seem adequate sometimes.  Not when you are trying to convey how deeply something someone has done or said has touched you, helped to heal you, given you hope, or maybe just made you smile or laugh and forget about all the junk you are going through for even just one minute.

So, in no particular order, THANK YOU:

Mark and Christine Satterfield – for immediately reaching out to my son and I when our world fell apart and inviting us into your home to be a part of your homegroup and your lives.  You guys are family.  We love you, and we are going to miss you terribly when you move.

The rest of the Satterfield homegroup – for also inviting us in and making us feel welcome and wanted.  You guys are awesome, and I’m looking forward to getting to know each of you even better.

The rest of my church family at First Baptist Hendersonville – I wish I could, but I can’t list everyone individually that has offered support, encouragement, acceptance, and prayers.  You guys are truly the Body of Christ.

My boss and co-workers – for supporting me and encouraging me and caring for me.  You are true friends and I know that I can count on each of you to be there if I ever need you.

Joy Cannis – for reaching out through the internet to someone you didn’t know with emails and prayers of encouragement.  I still read those prayers from you regularly, and I am blessed to have crossed paths with you during this time in my life.  It is so extremely comforting to know that there are others who have been where I am and not only survived, but are better for it.

Alece Ronzino – for being transparent and sharing your story of unwanted divorce and what God has done in your life since.  Finding your blog last spring was, without a doubt, a result of God directing me there.  Your transparency, authenticity, and bravery encouraged me and gave me strength to face the absolute worst thing I have had to deal with in my life head-on, and then to also begin blogging my journey to healing.  I haven’t been able to keep in touch since those initial conversations in early summer, but I want you to know that you made a profound impact on me that will continue to help me heal.  I hope that someday I can get together with you and Tracee for a cup of coffee or something, since we’re all in the Nashville area. 🙂  Oh, and thank you for being how I discovered . . .

Tracee Persiko – for being so incredibly supportive and encouraging.  Like with Alece, I haven’t had much of a chance to tweet or chat with you since summer, but every time I connected with you, it was like I was getting a hug from an old friend even though we barely knew each other.  I think that comes naturally when people who have known deep grief connect.  People who haven’t grieved deeply just can’t relate.  Thank you for reaching out and offering affirmation and acceptance to someone who desperately needed both at the time.

Jeremy Walker – for being open, honest, and transparent about your story.  Seeing from a different side has helped me to process some of what I have experienced.  Thank you for sharing your experiences on both sides of infidelity and how God has used that to grow you closer to Him.  I pray your story and your words will speak to others who may be considering the same path and cause them to turn away from it instead.

And there are many, many more I could list, but I have already gone way over 5 minutes.  But I can’t end this post with you saying

Thank You, God . . .

  • For letting me feel You near these past six months.
  • For speaking words of comfort, love, and strength to Me through Your Word and through other people.
  • For always providing financially exactly what I need exactly when I need it.
  • For the many ways You have prepared me for this moment in time during the last 16 years of my life.
  • For a great job working with people that care about me.
  • For a nice, safe house that I can afford to stay in and a car that is paid for and runs well.
  • For a church that truly lives Your mission and doesn’t just preach about it.
  • For friends, new and old, that are trustworthy and constant in both good times and bad.
  • For the blessing of having my son at home with me so that we can walk through this together and so that I can stay focused on what I need to do to set a good example for him.
  • For the ability I now have to say “Yes” whenever I feel You asking me to do something.
  • For the peace You have given me in knowing that I did absolutely everything I could to save my marriage and the freedom that comes with that knowledge.
  • For the healing You have given, and continue to give.
  • For the promise that You will honor my faithfulness to You.
  • For Your unconditional, never-ending love.

STOP


Wanna play? Here’s how:
1. Write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking.
2. Link back here and invite others to join in.
3. And then absolutely, no ifs, ands or buts about it, you need to visit the person who linked up before you & encourage them in their comments.

 

12 thoughts on “Thank You – #fiveminutefriday

  1. I am learning to give thanks even more in the hard places. It draws me so much closer to Him. So thankful for the loving support you’ve had during this hard season. Visit you from the Five Minute Friday!

    • It sure does, Barbie. And the thing I am discovering is that the more you make yourself give thanks in the hard places, the easier it becomes to continue doing so. Thanks for stopping by!

  2. I am glad you went over 5 mins because all of what you said was so beautiful, and what a lovely way to honor each of those people in your life. Isn’t it amazing how God places the right people in our lives at just the right time. I am so very thankful for so many people in my life that came at just the right moment.

    • Thank you, Emilie! Yes, He’s really blown me away this year with how He has cared for us and provided for us emotionally, spiritually, and financially. So grateful for the new “family” He surrounded us with.

Leave a Reply

