Wonder – #fiveminutefriday

Standard

It’s #FiveMinuteFriday!

So, here’s the skinny: every Friday for over a year hundreds of people join a kind of writing flash mob over here.

We write for five minutes flat. All on the same prompt that Lisa Jo posts at 1 minute past midnight EST every Friday. And we connect on Twitter with the hashtag #FiveMinuteFriday

No extreme editing; no worrying about perfect grammar, font, or punctuation.

Unscripted. Unedited. Real.

Are you ready

GO

john 1-1 greek

WONDER

Lately I’ve been wondering a lot about people and what motivates them to do or not do certain things.

I often wonder how people who claim to be Christians and know Jesus can do such hurtful, cruel things to others, especially since I’ve experienced it first-hand this year.

I wonder how people can get up and go through their day without care or concern for those they have injured with their selfish desire to stay comfortable.

I wonder how people can write about how you should be there for others and love them like Jesus did, all the while knowing full well they chose to turn their back when someone needed them to do just that.

I wonder what caused such blindness that enables them to justify their actions and choices.

And I get angry.  At them.  At the hypocrisy.  At the unfairness.  At the sin that they turn a blind eye to.

But I don’t want to be angry.  I don’t want to be a victim.  And I definitely don’t want to be a hypocrite.

I need to change what I am looking at if I want to change my vision.

I need to keep looking up to God and focusing on what He HAS done, not looking down on people and focusing on what they haven’t.

And focusing on what He has done over the past 6 months fills me with wonder.

Provision always coming just in time.

Real friendships with trustworthy people who are transparent and truly want to be the hands and feet of Jesus, and not just His mouth.

A God-given Titus family to support and encourage this pilgrim as I wander down this new road.

Opportunities to serve Him in ways I had never been able to before.

The privilege of knowing Him more intimately as He reveals Himself in my circumstances and through deeper study of His Word.

I don’t want to lose that wonder, especially not this Christmas.

Because Christmas isn’t about whether or not there is a mountain of presents around your tree.

It’s not about how much you have to spend or trying to outdo what you did the previous year.

It’s not even really about a baby in a manger.

The wonder of Christmas is that the infinite Creator of the universe chose to become one of us to do what we couldn’t do for ourselves.  The Word – the LOGOS – the creative Power through Whom all things were made – became flesh, and dwelt among us to reveal Himself to us.  And He still chooses to reveal Himself to us today if we will look for Him.

I wonder how many will look past the baby and see the Logos?

http://dwellingintheword.files.wordpress.com/2012/02/john-1_1.jpg

STOP


Wanna play? Here’s how:
1. Write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking.
2. Link back here and invite others to join in.
3. And then absolutely, no ifs, ands or buts about it, you need to visit the person who linked up before you & encourage them in their comments.

9 thoughts on “Wonder – #fiveminutefriday

  1. Nancy…this was painful and truthful and I can feel the hurt in your heart. I of course do not know details. I’ve only just come from Lisa-Jo for the first time to your site today. But I am so sorry for the hurt driven into your heart by the sins and poor choices of others. What you feel is valid. It’s real. And it affects you deeply. Know that He grieves that pain with you. I am thankful you are choosing to focus on HIM rather that them. Because the “them”…the “us”…humanity…we are so deeply broken. We are unfinished shards slicing one another in our search for wholeness. You are right to be affected. You are right to be angry. But above ALL – you are right to tear your eyes away from that and glue them to His goodness. His power to make ugly, transfixing-lovely. His might to turn ashes into glorious beauty. His provision to turn your heart from pain to worship and growth.

    We all have our darkness. It’s how we surrender it that makes us more like Him. Basking in Light.

    Great post! I am so thankful I came by.

    • As someone who has had their pain ignored and minimized by others, I can’t begin to tell you how healing and soothing it is when someone – anyone – sees your pain and gives validity to your feelings. Thank you so much, Leigh.

  2. Thank you Nancy…what a fabulous lament, uncensored…and then always the turn back to the Lord. I hear you loud and clear.

    My favorite sentence? Real friendships with trustworthy people who are transparent and truly want to be the hands and feet of Jesus, and not just His mouth.

    Amen.

    Not just mouths please, it’s getting a bit loud up in here.

    • It’s comforting to know people out there can relate. 🙂 I’m learning that real relationships happen when we are honest about how much of a mess we are instead of trying to keep the perfectly holy Christian/wife/mom mask in place. ‘Cause nobody’s fooled by that mask. Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a comment.

  3. Oh I just want to come over and give you a huge hug…look you square in the eyes and tell you how much He loves you. Pursues you. Went out of His way to save you. Die for you… and the beauty of it? It’s already been done. No one can take it away.

    I don’t know why we hurt each other…I’m so sorry you’ve experienced how low we can go.

    but I love your line “I need to change what I am looking at if I want to change my vision” and I love how you brought the focus all on Him.
    yes.

    I’m going to try during advent to focus on Logos with my 4 year old. ack! we’ll see how it goes. I’ve already decided I’ll get more out of it than he will, but that’s more than okay. He’ll see it eventually — hopefully through me.

    Love and hugs to you, Nancy!

  4. Not many, unfortunately. We seem to be living in a world that bombards us with materialism every moment. This is where we use the gift that God gave us – the gift of choice and free will. I know that I will try to focus on what Christmas is meant to be despite the world I live in.

  5. Again, Nancy, you have posted something that is so similar to my own feelings. Thank you. I have struggled with being hurt by a “Christian” mother-in-law and her daughter, a “Christian” sister-in-law who have spread slanderous lies about my husband and myself, for whatever reason they think they needed to do it, it is a pain that sometimes can be so hard to deal with especially when I let myself think about it. When I read your posts, I feel like there is hope that I can overcome this pain and that whatever or however they try and justify their version of Christianity, I know that I’m not the crazy one. Thank you.

    • It is extremely hard, and I still struggle with it sometimes, but thankfully not as often as I used to. You have no idea how similar our situations are.

Leave a Reply

