Changing My Focus – Advent 2012 – Day 6

Standard

Advent 2012

Rediscovering the Christmas Season – Day 6

The Gift

Acts 20:35

In every way I’ve shown you that by laboring like this, it is necessary to help the weak and to keep in mind the words of the Lord Jesus, for He said, ‘It is more blessed to give than to receive.’

1 John 4:10

Love consists in this: not that we loved God, but that He loved us and sent His Son to be the propitiation for our sins.

These verses are about giving and what that looks like.  The devotion talked about Christmas shopping for someone not a part of your immediate family. 🙂  I’ve been doing that a lot right now already!

So many people do not understand the real point of giving a gift.  A “gift” is defined as

something given voluntarily without payment in return, as toshow favor toward someone, honor an occasion, or make a gesture of assistance; present.


All to often when we talk about giving gifts, what we really mean is exchanging presents.  We give something to someone in full expectation that they will have something to give back to us.  But that really isn’t a gift.  It’s more of a swap.

Jesus came voluntarily to give us the gift of salvation.  We can’t possibly return payment.  He showed His love and favor toward us, and made a gesture of assistance to us because we couldn’t help ourselves.

THAT is a GIFT.

One of the ways God has given me joy in the midst of mourning is in realizing that I now have the freedom to be generous as I am led to be with my time, treasures, and talents.  If I want to volunteer in another area at church, I can do that.  If I want to donate extra money to a charity, I can do that.  If I want to spend all day Saturday shopping for kids in need, I can do that.  I have nothing holding me back from doing what I feel He is leading me to do – except for ME.

And the coolest thing is that when you are giving out of a generous heart – whether it’s time, money, or talent – YOU receive a blessing and a burst of joy.  And I think that is because God delights in us when we do His will. It warms His heart and makes Him glad.  And since God’s Holy Spirit lives in us, I think He allows us to feel some of His joy as a reward for doing His will.

Beth Moore likes to say, “There ain’t no high like the Most High.”

And she is SO right.  

Has there been a time when you have been blessed by someone else’s generosity?

Have you ever been able to bless someone else in an extreme way?

I’m linking up with Thorns and Gold to share Advent/Christmas posts this month. 

Also linking with:
New Equus • Found the Marbles • Jenni Mullinix • Intentional.Me • Our Simple Country Life • Walk in His Grace • Lost in the PrairiesYour Thriving Family • Christian Mommy Blogger• Raising Mighty Arrows • A Holy Experience • Graceful • lowercase letters • The Better Mom • The Wellspring •What Joy Is Mine • Covered In Grace • Finding Heaven • Rachel Wojnarowski • Gracelaced • The Mom Initiative • Heavenly Homemakers
Leave a Reply

