Changing My Focus – #Advent 2012 – Day 10: Immanuel

Standard

Rediscovering the Christmas Season – Day 10: Immanuel

Advent 2012

See, the virgin will become pregnant
and give birth to a son,
and they will name Him Immanuel,
which is translated “God is with us.”
~ Matthew 1:23

The Word became flesh
and took up residence among us.
We observed His glory,
the glory as the One and Only Son from the Father,
full of grace and truth.
~ John 1:14

Jesus is still “God with us” even though He’s not walking on earth right now.  We have His Holy Spirit indwelling us – taking up residence in our flesh.

That concept just amazes me.

The very Spirit of God is present with mein me – at all times to give me His strength and His comfort and His peace.

All I have to do to feel His Presence is to let Him fill me with His Presence.

Easier said than done.

But how do I do that?  How do I let Him fill me with His Presence? I’ve always heard – over and over – people say that so-and-so is “filled with the Holy Spirit” or that you should “listen to the Spirit” or that “the Holy Spirit” guided them.

And I wondered what was wrong with me that I never felt or heard or sensed the Holy Spirit in me.  I mean, I was saved, right?  So what was the deal?  Why didn’t I “feel” the Holy Spirit living in me?

I started reading Francis Chan’s Forgotten God over the summer when I was desperately seeking God’s face and guidance.  In all the craziness of life, I kind of stopped halfway through and never finished.  Maybe it had something to do with the fact that it’s an e-book, and I never remember to read it since I don’t see it laying around.  The subtitle of the book is “Reversing Our Tragic Neglect of the Holy Spirit.”

And I think we (both the big “C” Church and churches in general) have neglected the Holy Spirit.  I know I have.  We talk about God (Father) and Jesus (Son) all the time, but we kind of just tack on the Holy Spirit here and there like an afterthought.

I don’t think we fully grasp (at least I haven’t) that the Holy Spirit isn’t just an aspect of God – like holiness or love – that He transfers to us, but that the Holy Spirit IS God Himself in the exact way that Jesus is God Himself.  Just as Jesus and the Father are One, the Holy Spirit is also One.  The Holy Spirit is I AM just as much as the Father and the Son.

We refer to the Holy Spirit as “God’s Spirit,” and I think that makes us subconsciously think of It as a possession of God, or a manifestation of God, or personality trait of God.  Just like our finite minds separate God the Father and Jesus the Son into two separate entities, even though they aren’t.  But they really are.  But they’re not really.  But they are really.  And now I have a migraine.

It’s one of God’s mysteries that we just will never comprehend because it defies all logic.

That’s why it’s easier to swallow “God’s Spirit lives inside me” than “God lives inside me.”  But that is exactly what Paul said in 1 Corinthians 6:19-20:

19 Don’t you know that your body is a sanctuary of the Holy Spirit who is in you, whom you have from God? You are not your own, 20 for you were bought at a price. Therefore glorify God in your body.

This isn’t the same as God being for us.  That is a concept I have clung to this year, as well.  Meditating on the truth that God is for me.  But someone can be FOR you without actually being present WITH you.  You can cheer for a team without being on the team or ever even physically being present at a game.

But to realize that God is both FOR me and ever present WITH me – regardless of what I do – is life-changing.  To realize that He truly will never leave me or forsake me, that He will always be present with me, that He chose to bind Himself to me for all eternity, and that He can’t go back on His Word?

That’s worth a Hallelujah chorus this Christmas.

I think it’s time for me to finish that book.

Cover of "Forgotten God: Reversing Our Tr...

Cover via Amazon

I’m linking up with Thorns and Gold to share Advent/Christmas posts this month. 

Also linking with:
New Equus • Found the Marbles • Jenni Mullinix • Intentional.Me • Our Simple Country Life • Walk in His Grace • Lost in the PrairiesYour Thriving Family • Christian Mommy Blogger• Raising Mighty Arrows • A Holy Experience • Graceful • lowercase letters • The Better Mom • The Wellspring •What Joy Is Mine • Covered In Grace • Finding Heaven • Rachel Wojnarowski • Gracelaced • The Mom Initiative • Heavenly Homemakers
6 thoughts on “Changing My Focus – #Advent 2012 – Day 10: Immanuel

  1. Hi Nancy
    Yes, it is sometimes more, much more than my finite mind can comprehend….but I am so grateful. I have asked Him to teach me how to live in Him moment by moment and this is an incredible journey!!
    Higs XX

  2. This is good stuff, Nancy! Some friends and I were just talking about how we have a tendency to address God as Father or Son, but not as much, the indwelling Holy Spirit… God IN us…what’s with that?! Oh, I’m so thankful that He is in us, never-ever leaving us! Rejoice!
    Thanks so much for stopping by today!
    Blessings to you ~ Mary

  3. Thanks for this – it was good for me to stop and ruminate a while on what it means for God to be living inside me, and having the Holy Spirit dwelling in us. You’re right – it is really cool, and makes me glad again I’m a Christian and am not alone. Thanks for linking up!

  4. Pingback: “You can trust my decision because I’m not out to get my own way but only to carry out orders.” ~~Jesus « Michael Wilson's Blog

  5. Pingback: The Fourth Sunday of Advent: Prophetic Moments « Walking with Benedict

  6. Pingback: I Want To Know What Love Is | New Heaven on Earth!

Leave a Reply

